Ar7210 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Goblin 280


Goblin 280 SAB Heli Division - Goblin 280 Helicopters


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2018, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Burke, Virginia
Default Ar7210

Has anybody set up a SAB 280 with ar7210 FLB unit
Ravmano7 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2018, 12:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,697
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Default

Did mine for a while with the microbeast. Same thing minus the rx.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Thickfog is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2018, 02:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto
Default

yes
jsbach#1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2018, 05:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Burke, Virginia
Default

How did you guys set your throttle curves?
Ravmano7 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2018, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,697
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravmano7 View Post
How did you guys set your throttle curves?
Depends. If running the governor on the esc or flybarless unit governor or using flat curves.

I do not know of your AR has an internal governor. I think that one is an older flybar unit. Check the manual.

If no governor on the AR follow your esc manufacturer directions for setup using the esc governor.

Or use flat curves in your tx.



Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Thickfog is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2018, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,697
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Default

Just checked the AR manual. It has governor.

So follow directions there or your ESC directions or use flat curves and no governor.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Thickfog is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2018, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Burke, Virginia
Default

Ok. Sounds good.
Ravmano7 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2018, 09:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,697
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Default

And check back if, the instructions are no good. Hobbywing are some of the worst instructions out!

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet K1 using Tapatalk
Thickfog is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 02:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Burke, Virginia
Default

Thanks. How do I set the governor in the ar7210 I just want to get it in the air at 3000 rpm to check things out. And there?s no conversion because of direct drive. This is getting confusing!
Ravmano7 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 02:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,246
 

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Default

To be honest I think the best way is to setup ESC governor. That way it is simpler. And I think that's how SAB expects you to setup.

The Fireball has the HW/SAB 60A ESC. So you need to:

1. Have a fully charged battery
2. Setup the ESC for Gov Store (you need to buy the Hobbywing program box)
3. Setup a linear throttle curve 0-25-50-75-100
4. Spool up on a safe outside spot and let it run at 0 pitch and 50% throttle for a couple of minutes

That's it. You can experiment with different flat throttle curves to find out what headspeed suits you best. Use the reference on the manual (e.g. 85% throttle = 4200 on standard motor).
__________________
Goblins: 570 Sport (Big Bird) / 500 Sport (Ghost) / 420 (Panthro) / 380 (Yellowbird) / DX9 BE & DX6 G2 / [Citizen 755]
Team Pilot: SAB USA YouTube: http://tinyurl.com/toadiscoil Co-Host: Full Pitch RC Heli Podcast
toadiscoil is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 03:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Burke, Virginia
Default

Thanks! I want to use the governor on the ar7210. How do I set it up for 3000 rpm I just want to puts her around a bit? And there?s no conversion because of the direct drive! This app s getting confusing. Thanks in advance
Ravmano7 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 03:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Burke, Virginia
Default

Sorry about the double post. I really want to set it up on the fbl. I already have the tach lead wired up. And don?t think I want to buy the Hobbywing programer
Ravmano7 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 03:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,246
 

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Default

Now I can't be sure but if that's what you want, you may have to anyways. I can't find the SAB-specific parameters. I know that someone posted here on another thread that and I assumed that came on the manual but don't see it.

My point is that if the ESC is setup from factory to use governor, then it's set to a governor mode (like gov store or gov elf). This means that if you use your FBL gov you will end up with two governors competing with each other which may be a very bad situation.

I would buy the programming box. It's inexpensive enough at least to what we are used to on this hobby.
__________________
Goblins: 570 Sport (Big Bird) / 500 Sport (Ghost) / 420 (Panthro) / 380 (Yellowbird) / DX9 BE & DX6 G2 / [Citizen 755]
Team Pilot: SAB USA YouTube: http://tinyurl.com/toadiscoil Co-Host: Full Pitch RC Heli Podcast
toadiscoil is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 03:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Burke, Virginia
Default

Also to set the throttle end points on the esc. You power up the copter at full stick wait for some beeps, then go to 0 stick wait for beeps and you?re done. Is this correct? My esc just keeps rapidly beeping.

Thanks guys for all the help!
Ravmano7 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 03:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,246
 

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Default

If I remember correctly on those units, they have to be powered on first. What happens is that they have a feature to ensure there is no throttle until it fully initializes. You have to power the FBL first, then the ESC.

See this:

https://www.horizonhobby.com/pdf/SPM...l_addendum.pdf
__________________
Goblins: 570 Sport (Big Bird) / 500 Sport (Ghost) / 420 (Panthro) / 380 (Yellowbird) / DX9 BE & DX6 G2 / [Citizen 755]
Team Pilot: SAB USA YouTube: http://tinyurl.com/toadiscoil Co-Host: Full Pitch RC Heli Podcast
toadiscoil is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 04:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,246
 

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Default

I found the post I was looking for.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread...77#post7535424

The SAB ESC comes factory with Gov Store so the ESC governor on by default. You will need the box to change that if you want to use FBL gov anyways.
__________________
Goblins: 570 Sport (Big Bird) / 500 Sport (Ghost) / 420 (Panthro) / 380 (Yellowbird) / DX9 BE & DX6 G2 / [Citizen 755]
Team Pilot: SAB USA YouTube: http://tinyurl.com/toadiscoil Co-Host: Full Pitch RC Heli Podcast
toadiscoil is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2018, 05:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravmano7 View Post
Has anybody set up a SAB 280 with ar7210 FLB unit
Use the hobbywing gov store - it works absolutely mint. You’re wasting your energy.
jsbach#1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2018, 07:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 64
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Burke, Virginia
Default

Ok. So I took the 280 out to a park to run at 50% throttle for a couple minutes this morning. It spools up fine for about 30 seconds then the rpms drop out, raise back up and drop out. Grrrr need help in northern Virginia
Ravmano7 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2018, 03:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,246
 

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Default

Get the Hobbywing programming box. Change your flight mode to airplane and power off then power on and change again to gov store and power off. The next time the ESC is powered on will go into RPM stabilization mode. Full pack 0 pitch and 50% throttle for a minute or so and power off. Done. You should be able to run a flat 80% throttle curve and the governor should kick in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
toadiscoil is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-13-2018, 06:31 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,179
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Manassas, VA
Default

Haven't been on the site in a while since buying a house and moving. I'm in NorVA. I can let you use a program box and help with your setup if you like. May be a little while before I dig out my heli stuff and get me back to flying again. Send me a PM if interested.
__________________
-Ben

Oxy 2/3/4; P380; DX9
Lynx Heli Innovations Field Rep
jrman83 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1