Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > 180CFX


180CFX Blade 180CFX Helicopters Information and Help


Like Tree10Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2018, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default 180cfx motorized tail

So my first experience with one of these was like trying to tame a mad hornet. I'm not a 3d flyer at all. Maybe a scale to a light sport. Mostly I love to just hover around in my yard. I have a 200srx, 5 x 130x with rotary servos and a 230s. Now I added 2 180cfx's to the mix. One is stock and the other?? I built it out of several heli parts. I wanted a slightly smaller heli than the 230s and bigger than the 130x. The 180cfx is just the right size for my wants.
Albeit by the time I was 90% done with this I found the blog on how to castrate this heli to something I could control. It works simply awesome now and I can fly it with 2s batteries to boot.


Taming the Blade 180 CFX


Awesome blog. Thanks to Indokast for showing me this.


Now for the motorized tail.
1. Stock 180cfx frame, motor, servos and boom.
2. Ar6335a from 130s
3. 230s esc with smaller bullet connectors.
4. 230s tail motor and mount and piece of tail boom for shim.
Stock 180cfx boom fits snug into 230s boom to allow mounting of 230s tail motor mount.
I went with this setup because the 230s tail is rock solid in my opinion.


I must add that I have stability mode too.
The only issue I have had so far is that I have not been able to access any of the advanced menus for gyro gains, trim flight of leveling for some reason,




Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
Indokast likes this.

Last edited by inganeer; 07-07-2018 at 10:33 AM.. Reason: added info
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2018, 08:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default

My stock 180cfx with orange canopy.

Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2018, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 945
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Default

RE advanced menus:
What TX do you use?
__________________
Good luck and happy landings.
daveapplemotors is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2018, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default

Dx7 g2


Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 04:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 945
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Default maybe this will help...

Your DX7 is like my DX6, I believe. If you are trying to get PIDs set accurately the instructions aren't real clear for telemetry.


The trick is to roll the roller without pressing any buttons so that the PID menu comes up. It took me a few tries to get there because I kept pressing the roller instead of just rolling it.
__________________
Good luck and happy landings.
daveapplemotors is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 05:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default

I can get to the telemetry menu. The problem I have is that when you pull the throttle stick to the bottom left and the cyclic to the bottom right and then press the bind/panic button it does nothing. No swash movement.
Its like panic cause the fbl to lock up. Have to disconnect the battery and reconnect it to get cyclic movement back.

Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 06:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 945
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Default try this

put throttle lower RIGHT and cyclic lower right while initializing.
After the servos wiggle DO NOT PRESS a button.

Just roll the roller three clicks. The first click gets me 'monitor', the second gets 'telemetry' and the third click goes to 'flight log'

Once you see 'flight log' use the right stick to cycle through the seven PID adjustments--H:1 through H:7


If you put the throttle to the lower left you can adjust servo centering. Again roll the roller to get to the 'flight log' where you can adjust H:1 through H:3 incrementally (with the right stick) while watching the centering frequency change.


Save servo center positions or PIDs by holding left stick lower right until the servos wiggle.

Note: although the servos and throttle operate after you save I think it is better to disconnect the battery after these adjustments. I once failed to re-initialize after checking servo centers and the heli did some weird stuff and crashed.
__________________
Good luck and happy landings.

Last edited by daveapplemotors; 07-08-2018 at 06:36 AM.. Reason: more
daveapplemotors is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 02:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default

I was sure hoping that would work. Swash just leans but never wiggled. This is frustrating.

Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 03:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default

My stock 180cfx wont go into advanced menus either. Must not have something set right in my radio.
My 230s works perfect getting into the menus.

Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 945
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Default

You posted while I was typing that last. Now with the info that your 230 works maybe TX values for rudder and/or throttle are your problem...
__________________
Good luck and happy landings.

Last edited by daveapplemotors; 07-08-2018 at 03:26 PM.. Reason: new info
daveapplemotors is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 04:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default Solved

Finally figured it out. Because I used a 180cfx frame with rotary servos I had to reverse the elevator, aileron and pitch in the radio to get it to fly. This prevents me from from getting into the advanced menus. If I reverse them to the default setting I gain access to advanced menus. Make my adjustments and rev radio settings to fly. Works like a dream.


For those that liked the 130s but disliked the fact that when installing a 850mah battery it caused the tail to kick out.

I am using the AR6335A from a 130s and have a 1000mah in this contraption and it flies great. Although I dont do any 3D flying pitch pumps and my type of aggressive flying, I love this. And the icing on the cake to me is it has rotary servos. Those linear servos are really tough for me to clean with my tremors.


I really hope this helps someone else that has hair brain ideas like me.
Indokast and Lotus 7 like this.
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 05:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default 180cfx

And on my stock 180cfx the reason is basically the same. I used 3 of the Blue Arrow DO3013 servos I had to rev the radio settings for them too.
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2018, 09:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,633
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa.
Default

Blue Arrow servo interface for reversing servo direction.....


BA-SPUSB


A little pricey, but you may get your programmability back.


HW.
__________________
Many helis from the 70s to 2000s.
Align,Blade,GMP,Hirobo,Kyosho,Schluter.Flybars cool,FBL too. Currently flying the little ones.
Heliwhisperer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2018, 05:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default

Thanks, this is an option for me. If my soldering skills were what they used be I wouldn't need it lol.

Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2018, 10:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 802
 

Join Date: Apr 2015
Default

Why did you swap out the tail for a motorized one? I get that you wanted a more mild 180, but why did you go this route instead of the usual (change HS, TX settings, etc) ?
tryzub is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2018, 10:55 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,081
 

Join Date: Mar 2014
Default

you beat Blade by producing the 180s first!
__________________
Brandon Chew aka ~INDO~
Team Lynx / Oxy Heli
Oxy 2, 3, 4, 4Max, 5
plus many others 420 and under
Indokast is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2018, 11:46 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default

I really liked the 130s but I really dislike the linear servos. Wasn't a huge issue but longer flight time would be great too.
At the time I didn't know how to tame the 180cfx to my liking. Had most of the parts laying around and out of curiosity I put this together.
Basically it is a 130s in a slightly larger frame with the ability to fly with a 1000mah battery without the tail kick most experienced with the 130s.

Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
Indokast likes this.
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2018, 11:56 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 802
 

Join Date: Apr 2015
Default

OK, cool. I was just asking because swapping out just the tail on its own wouldn't mild the 180 if that is all you were after.
tryzub is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2018, 10:14 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Default

Isn't this setup very heavy / high disc loading with the 230s esc and a 1000 mah battery? Is this 1000 a 2s pack?

I'm intrigued since I have that esc and some spare 180cfx parts.

I assume the 4th wire from the esc is the tail gain input to control how fast the motor spins?

I wonder if the stock 180cfx fbl unit could drive the tail via this 4th wire. I have a uSpirit which could do it, but it's in my regular 180cfx and flying so nicely I hate to remove it.

My thought would be to stretch the boom to run oxy2 or align 250 size blades.

Thoughts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by inganeer View Post
I really liked the 130s but I really dislike the linear servos. Wasn't a huge issue but longer flight time would be great too.
At the time I didn't know how to tame the 180cfx to my liking. Had most of the parts laying around and out of curiosity I put this together.
Basically it is a 130s in a slightly larger frame with the ability to fly with a 1000mah battery without the tail kick most experienced with the 130s.

Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
__________________
Gaui - X3L | Gaui Flybar 500 | Oxy3 Qube | Align 600 CF Flybar | Spirit | FunCub
blade_crasher is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2018, 10:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 137
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Default

It is slightly heavier than the stock 180cfx. I don't have any scales that will acuratly weight them. The 1000mah battery is an additional weight consideration. I just mainly mentioned it to show that it flies great with it using the 130s fbl unit. A lot If not most people that have a 130s had issues using anything larger than the stock battery. I could have saved a little weight by using the plastic tail mount from the 230s. Not sure if a 130s mount will work. Don't know if the boom diameter is close or to small.

Sent from my LGL63BL using Tapatalk
inganeer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1