Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > R/C Related Electronics DIY


R/C Related Electronics DIY DIY R/C Electronics for tinkerers and the budget minded


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Hyperion Eos 720iSuperDuo3 BLUETOOTH

Dear friends

I bought last week a Bluetooth TX/RX dongle.
The same that we use for custom VBar bluetooth adapters.

I did find in a site how to make the Hyperions communicate with your PC with Bluetooth instead of USB wire.
http://www.wheelchairdriver.com/hype...conversion.htm
The modifications were mainly for single chargers not DUOs.
Finally they said that it could be done in DUOs also.
http://www.wheelchairdriver.com/boar...p=23149#p23149

I tried the above in Hyperion Eos 720iDuo3 and never managed to make it work or even get the dongle powered up because the V from the proposed pins after connecting the dongle goes to 2.2V (So not working)

So help me here to get that charger connected with Bluetooth.
Or post some pics if anyone has done it to work.

I am ready to break the charger or my head.

Thank you.....all
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2013, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Απ: Hyperion Eos 720iSuperDuo3 BLUETOOTH

Anyone to help me???


GT-I9000 & Tapatalk 2
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2013, 07:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Check with John what he has to say
http://www.wheelchairdriver.com/hype...conversion.htm

But there is no reason for your having only 2.2v unless you short something out or have shorted and damaged something.

Perhaps your dongle is dead, I have killed plenty on the helis.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2013, 07:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Απ: Hyperion Eos 720iSuperDuo3 BLUETOOTH

I just found that in the John's forum another guy had the same trouble with me but no response.
They are saying that they are converting the single line chargers.

Anyway the dongle worked in a Vbar after that with no problem.
I guess there is not enough current.Before connecting dongle it reads 4.5V while after it reads 2.2V . But after applying external power from a 4cell NiMH pack it works (powered) and connected to the PC but no way to see the Hyperion Suite to read my charger.

I guess it is a good opportunity to see that matter leading to an end here if we all co-operate.

BR
Bill

GT-i9000 & Tapatalk 2
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2013, 08:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Απ: Hyperion Eos 720iSuperDuo3 BLUETOOTH

I had read that Mr.Mel posted some pics about the DUOs in the John's forum but a little clarification here or some
McGyver style tricks here from a guy that had the charger working (I mean DUO and not 1420 etc) will be more than welcomed here.

GT-i9000 & Tapatalk 2
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2013, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Since it was me that come up with the original mod suggestion, and I have done it on several DUO's, I can only take it something is a miss on yours, but if it's only power, I would simply look for 3.3 - 5v somewhere else on the mother board.

(current draw on those BT modules are not that great I would worry too much, just make sure you get a point where you can solder without risk)
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2013, 04:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Dear Fredrik , you know that your help is always welcomed since you know much more than me for electronics.

But this mod supposed to be easy.I did everything that the wheelchair forum suggested under your suggestion.
But no luck. So let me upload the pics with the connections I did and pls advise me what else might work.

I tried 2 dongles but the same luck.
Or I will send it to you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	720i duo 3 connections 1.jpg
Views:	923
Size:	114.6 KB
ID:	389758   Click image for larger version

Name:	720i duo 3 connections 2.jpg
Views:	954
Size:	142.6 KB
ID:	389759  
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2013, 04:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

To add some info the Charger gets connected with the USB cable
so the Silabs its connected.

But with the dongle and external power (4s NiMh pac) it powers up but no windows are opening in the Hyperion Suite.
__________________________________________________ _________________________
In addition I found the post I quote below in John's(wheelchair forum)
that is the link(http://www.wheelchairdriver.com/boar...p=23149#p23149 )

Re: Hyperion Bluetooth - EOS0615iduo3+ and 720i super duo 3
by Zhavener on Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:17 pm
Has anyone successfully installed a BT module in a 720i Super Duo 3? I am in the process of trying however when the charger is powered on I only get around 2vdc across between the USB case and the back pin on the temperature sensor port. I believe it needs to be at least 3.3vdc to power the BT Module. Also I am at a loss for locations to solder the Rx and Tx Wires.''
__________________________________________________ ___________________________

So it is the same problem as mine.
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2013, 02:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Default

Like I said, get power from somewhere else then (on the motherboard), it's no biggie, find a point where you can solder it and where there is enough power.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2013, 03:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 244
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Απ: Hyperion Eos 720iSuperDuo3 BLUETOOTH

Ok the power is no matter.
But what about the connection with the Hyperion Suite?

Or the rest of the connections?
Are they ok?

GT-i9000 & Tapatalk 2
__________________
Bill
Esprit Model Flying, TDR Rigid x2
F9 Fiberglass Europe Canopies
billiano is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 06:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 468
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Default

Hi Folks,

Does anybody know if wie can use this mod for other (non hyperion) chargers as well?
So many chargers are equipped with SiLabs CP2102.
Just connect Pin 25/26 from the chip and GND and also 3.3V from somewhere to the BT Module?
Then go to Windows BT, connect the device and get com ports.
Use Logview to receive the live data (Logview.info).

Is it POSSIBLE???
__________________
Velos 880, 800e Pro DFC, Mostro 700, Suzi Laos 800
RJX Xtreme 90EP, Outrage F50, Goblin 570KSE, Goblin 380
garfield2412 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2015, 11:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billiano View Post
I just found that in the John's forum another guy had the same trouble with me but no response.
They are saying that they are converting the single line chargers.

Anyway the dongle worked in a Vbar after that with no problem.
I guess there is not enough current.Before connecting dongle it reads 4.5V while after it reads 2.2V . But after applying external power from a 4cell NiMH pack it works (powered) and connected to the PC but no way to see the Hyperion Suite to read my charger.

I guess it is a good opportunity to see that matter leading to an end here if we all co-operate.

BR
Bill

GT-i9000 & Tapatalk 2
Sounds like you have shorted both rx and tx resistors while soldering which may cause this voltage drop when you plug in the BT module. Has anyone tried to replace these two resistors? Whats the specs of these chip resistors? A friend of mine is doing this mod and got the module to power up but then did a bit of a mess soldering the rx tx resistors and touch each other which then causes the module not to power up anymore when plugged in as it only shows 2v now.
miyage007 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2019, 05:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Default Latest Super Duo 3

Hi Folks
has any body got photos and or an explanation on how to convert the latest Super Duo to Bluetooth and do away with USB cable, lots of info on the older model but the newer model has an Octocupler fitted to the USB socket and there isn't any info out there .
regards
Graham
graham00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1