Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > OpenTX Radios


OpenTX Radios OpenTX Radios Discussion and Support Forum


Like Tree19Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2019, 11:13 PM   #41 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,181
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

Found this on Thingiverse:


https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3857670





I think it could stand a few improvements though.

The position of the antenna holes could be adjusted to better match the antennas and changed from slots to actual round holes.

The supports for the PCB inside the case could be improved. There is one under the PCB between the antennas but others could be added to the corners and supports could also be added to the lid to sandwich the PCB (these must match spots on the edge of the PCB where there are no components)

The size of the bind button hole could be optimized, I think it's a little large.

When I have some time I'll see about adding those.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	featured_preview_P9120316b.jpg
Views:	380
Size:	70.5 KB
ID:	818893  
Atomic Skull is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-22-2019, 11:59 AM   #42 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K-rash View Post
using frsky on large models should be avoided

lol, like a goblin 770?

been using mine for a while now
__________________
Goblin 770S - eXo 500 - HD 502 - Oxy FE, Max, MEG

Spartan VX1e, Frsky RX, RT & Zeal Blades MKS/BK, Hobbywing
Danker16 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2019, 10:10 AM   #43 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Default

Antenna routing suggestions. I'm new to Frsky and converting my Oxy3 from spectrum now. I used a XM+ to a uSpirit controller.

The Spektrum sats had their short antennas basically perpendicular to the cases, how should the two longer antennas be positioned?

Is sending one basically straight from the RX fixed to one side of the frame and the other looped backwards on the other frame side okay or bad?

Thanks
__________________
Gaui - X3L | Gaui Flybar 500 | Oxy3 Qube | Align 600 CF Flybar | Spirit | FunCub
blade_crasher is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2019, 07:00 AM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Default

Place the 2 antennas perpendicular to each other.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
xoexoe likes this.
kuroguy is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2019, 11:32 AM   #45 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K-rash View Post
using frsky on large models should be avoided
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danker16 View Post
lol, like a goblin 770?

been using mine for a while now
+1 Danker16 . Or a Trex 550X like mine. I have been using Frsky on it for more than a year now without any failures.
__________________
Align Trex 550X (Spirit 2 FBL/Geolink), Trex 470LP (mini Brain 2 FBL), Trex 450 Pro (mini Vbar FBL), HCP100S, V977, V911, Taranis Q X7S OpenTX.
denis747 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2019, 12:12 PM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,960
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denis747 View Post
+1 Danker16 . Or a Trex 550X like mine. I have been using Frsky on it for more than a year now without any failures.
Still waiting on k-rash to respond to my statistical analysis of what he posted. But, I don't think that is going to happen.

I have put on over 250 flights on my E7 with an X4R-SB and had zero radio issues.

Same with my 516 and X4R-SB.

Had a 450X with an RXSR and no issues, but it finally succumbed to the thumb glitch...
Ivan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2019, 08:30 PM   #47 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 390
 

Join Date: Jul 2015
Default

specter 700, Flown with qx7 and x4r sb lol

Kevin Dover flying XL Power at Helis Gone Wild 2019 (4 min 26 sec)


Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
IndividualWon and denis747 like this.
kevindnyc is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2020, 03:54 AM   #48 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan View Post
Still waiting on k-rash to respond to my statistical analysis of what he posted. But, I don't think that is going to happen.
Your statistical analysis is flawed ... My original post in this thread says "large models"... The post you quoted says 600 size models... so the relevant statistic would be to large models...yet you selected to use data from all models flown... so the actual relevant failure ratio would be more like 4 out of 30....

BTW, I now have many hundreds of flights with large models on Jeti and have had zero failsafes... Try analyzing that.
K-rash is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2020, 12:28 PM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Default

I have had zero (nothing/nada) fail-safes with FrSky on a large model, flying many hundreds of flights on it too. Absolutely no failures. Go figure that.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk








Last edited by denis747; 01-05-2020 at 01:01 PM..
denis747 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2020, 09:13 AM   #50 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Default ACCESS

Anybody happen to know if I use my ACCESS X9 Lite, an RX4R flashed with ACCESS firmware, if SBUS out will work the same?

I also acquired two Microbeast Plus for working on a buddies two heli's that I'm setting up on his two new Ikon2's; I'm interested in using the SBUS to one of the Microbeast Plus controllers.
__________________
IndividualWon
IndividualWon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2020, 09:53 AM   #51 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: KC MO
Default

Yeah if you use S.Bus out it should work. S.Bus is standardized.
IndividualWon likes this.
__________________
Keith - MSH Brain2 Beta Test Team - KST Heli Division Team Pilot
Synergy N606 | Synergy 516S | GAUI NX5 | Protos 380 | T-REX 470LP
FrSky Help Click Here
https://kc3dprint.com - 3D Printing on Demand and Printed RC Helicopter Upgrades
Number is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2020, 04:54 PM   #52 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: NC USA
Default

Are you guys running a single receiver or two?
Race City flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2020, 05:25 PM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Race City flyer View Post
Are you guys running a single receiver or two?
Single - but biggest heli is a 380
xoexoe likes this.
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2020, 06:03 PM   #54 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Race City flyer View Post
Are you guys running a single receiver or two?
Single on all including a 700 gasser.
__________________
XK K110(s), Align 150X, Align 500XT, Align 550E/DFC, Blade fusion 180, Goblin 280, Goblin 380, Goblin 420, Goblin 500 Sport, Leviathan Goblin 700 TRM gasser --- FrSky/OpenTX controlled.
Oh, and GO HOGS!
tvoth3 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2020, 06:35 PM   #55 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: KC MO
Default

Currently:

X4R-SB in F.Port mode on my 516 and (new) Gaui NX5
X8R on my Synergy N556
R-X8R Pro on my E700N (used to have a XM+ as a redundant but removed it)
__________________
Keith - MSH Brain2 Beta Test Team - KST Heli Division Team Pilot
Synergy N606 | Synergy 516S | GAUI NX5 | Protos 380 | T-REX 470LP
FrSky Help Click Here
https://kc3dprint.com - 3D Printing on Demand and Printed RC Helicopter Upgrades
Number is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 01:54 AM   #56 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Default

I have just set up a RSSI- field in my Telemetry display, it shows the lowest that the RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indicator) goes during flight. I did this as I am just moving a number of my helis over to FRSky and I can see immediately if I have a signal problem - the Tx will obviously tell me if it gets critical, but I wanted to know how low it was getting even when it's OK.

If you are worried about reception you could do something similar
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 09:56 AM   #57 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: KC MO
Default

Yep, I do that too. I don't think I've seen any lower than 65 even doing good size autos, so I'd say the radio link is darn good. Considering the low RSSI is at 45, and decibels are a logarithmic scale, I think I'd have to go way high up to even reach a moderately low signal.
__________________
Keith - MSH Brain2 Beta Test Team - KST Heli Division Team Pilot
Synergy N606 | Synergy 516S | GAUI NX5 | Protos 380 | T-REX 470LP
FrSky Help Click Here
https://kc3dprint.com - 3D Printing on Demand and Printed RC Helicopter Upgrades
Number is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 10:03 AM   #58 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,313
 

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Snohomish, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikej View Post
I have just set up a RSSI- field in my Telemetry display, it shows the lowest that the RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indicator) goes during flight.

If you are worried about reception you could do something similar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Number View Post
Yep, I do that too.

Great idea guys. Do you bother with a reset button for that telemetry value so you can check the minimum value on a flight-by-fligut basis. Id probably end up doing that.
__________________
Brian Oxy 2 & 4 Max XK K110 S2 & CP X 150X iK2N/Brain2/Spirit Horus X10S OpenTX AccuRC
xoexoe is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 10:16 AM   #59 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: KC MO
Default

Yeah I have a switch setup to reset the flight (which in turn resets the timer(s) and telemetry all at once). I also use telemetry to tell me maximum current and ESC temperature so I have to reset it before a flight otherwise the data is from a previous flight.
xoexoe likes this.
__________________
Keith - MSH Brain2 Beta Test Team - KST Heli Division Team Pilot
Synergy N606 | Synergy 516S | GAUI NX5 | Protos 380 | T-REX 470LP
FrSky Help Click Here
https://kc3dprint.com - 3D Printing on Demand and Printed RC Helicopter Upgrades
Number is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 11:21 AM   #60 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Number View Post
Yep, I do that too. I don't think I've seen any lower than 65 even doing good size autos, so I'd say the radio link is darn good. Considering the low RSSI is at 45, and decibels are a logarithmic scale, I think I'd have to go way high up to even reach a moderately low signal.
...and it doesn't lose control link until below something like 35 which is like three times as far as when you get the warning.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
kuroguy is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1