Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > HELI-X Flight Sim


HELI-X Flight Sim HELI-X Flight Sim for Mac, Windows, Linux


Like Tree8Likes
  • 6 Post By MichaelS
  • 1 Post By navigator2011
  • 1 Post By yakky
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2020, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Corona Version

For many of us, it is currently not or only limited possible to pursue our hobby model flying. If you have to stay at home, using a simulator is the best alternative. For this reason, the latest HELI-X version 9 (as beta version with only some models and airfields) is now available for free (but limited in time).

https://www.heli-x.info/cms/corona-crisis/
MichaelS is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2020, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,410
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Default

I love Heli-X anyway, for their great training modules, but this is fantastic!
yakky is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2020, 02:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,031
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Default

Been using Heli-X for years, and it has taught me more than I could have imagined!

And, I plan to be using Heli-X for years to come!

mlp3028 likes this.
__________________
navigator2011
Fusion 180 / Blade 150S / OMP Hobby M2 & M1 / Align Trex 150X / Spektrum DX9.
Navi's Channel / Navi's RCGroups Blog
navigator2011 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2020, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,517
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago Area
Default Older Mac?

I don't find it listed in the specs or any related questions in their forum.

Will this version (whatever they are offering) run on my older Mac using OS 10.10.5 Yosemite?

My hardware specs are:

2.6Ghz Intel Core i7
12GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024MB


Thanks.
__________________
Diabolo 700UL / Logo 700 / Oxy 5 / Goblin 500 / Oxy 2 FE / Blade 180CFX / mCPxBL / nano CPS / V-Bar NEO / V-Bar Control / uBrain / DX7
3D Dave is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2020, 03:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,410
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D Dave View Post
I don't find it listed in the specs or any related questions in their forum.

Will this version (whatever they are offering) run on my older Mac using OS 10.10.5 Yosemite?

My hardware specs are:

2.6Ghz Intel Core i7
12GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024MB


Thanks.
Not sure about the version of OS, but you've got plenty of power there. I've run Heli-X on a laptop that most of you guys wouldn't use to browse the internet (dual core, 2 gigs of ram, joke of a video card).
yakky is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2020, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,952
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

Great gesture

I have been using it for years because it had the TDR originally but I have been using the training modes a lot.

The one where you have the helicopter rotate around its axis at a constant speed, not under your own control, and having to keep it in one spot is my favorite for orientation.
__________________
TDSF, TDR-II, Triabolo, 2 X TDR, Logo 700,Protos evoluzione, T-Rex 700Dominator, Goblin700, SpiritRS, Jeti DC-24,HW,Kosmik,Jive Pro
EF MXS 3W110, Ultimate Aeroworks 20-300, DA 170, PowerBox Mercury, Q80-8M in a 91" EF Extra and MXS 104+ few jets
Puttputt maru is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2020, 12:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,029
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chrisitansburg VA USA
Default

I appreciate the free test drive. I installed it and honestly I wasn't impressed but I'm also looking for a sim that is as close to real world accurate as possible at this point.

I was happy to see that it worked with my realflight box without too much fuss. I can't remember which sim it was I tried years ago that would not at all no matter what I did.
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL -- Charge Case
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2020, 07:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,410
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Default

Itís not the best sim from a visual and physics standpoint, but it is getting better. What it excels at is the training exercises.
jasond1979 likes this.
yakky is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2020, 05:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Default

Mac OSX Sierra 10.12.6 with RX2Sim.

HeliX 8 works fine

Helix 9 Public Beta 9.0.2171, does not recognize my controller, can't setup, fly or calibrate because none of the blue bars move.

Since I'm a registered HeliX 8 user, is there another version of 9 I can download?
__________________
Micros: Hisky HCP80, ESKY 150x,K110, Trex-150X x 2 Mid: Oxy 3 T New Version, Oxy 4 360 Big: Trex-500X, Oxy 5, Trex-550X, Trex-700X Scale: MD500 TOW Defender (Trex 500 size) Vintage: Trex 450 SE V2
ic-racer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2020, 06:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 914
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Multiplayer has issues ? cant connect to a friends session also the sessions dont disappear after disconnection from a session you have made ? is this normal ? is it this hard to connect on version 8 ?
satchy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2020, 04:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,517
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago Area
Default

Thanks yakky. I might give it a try.



Quote:
Originally Posted by yakky View Post
Not sure about the version of OS, but you've got plenty of power there. I've run Heli-X on a laptop that most of you guys wouldn't use to browse the internet (dual core, 2 gigs of ram, joke of a video card).
__________________
Diabolo 700UL / Logo 700 / Oxy 5 / Goblin 500 / Oxy 2 FE / Blade 180CFX / mCPxBL / nano CPS / V-Bar NEO / V-Bar Control / uBrain / DX7
3D Dave is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2020, 10:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ic-racer View Post
Mac OSX Sierra 10.12.6 with RX2Sim.

HeliX 8 works fine

Helix 9 Public Beta 9.0.2171, does not recognize my controller, can't setup, fly or calibrate because none of the blue bars move.

Since I'm a registered HeliX 8 user, is there another version of 9 I can download?
Now I found that back in HeliX 8, none of the menus will show. I tried re-installing HeliX 8 and the menus still won't show. The last helicopter I used still flies fine, but I can't change anything now.

I'll try booting 9 or re-starting my computer.
__________________
Micros: Hisky HCP80, ESKY 150x,K110, Trex-150X x 2 Mid: Oxy 3 T New Version, Oxy 4 360 Big: Trex-500X, Oxy 5, Trex-550X, Trex-700X Scale: MD500 TOW Defender (Trex 500 size) Vintage: Trex 450 SE V2
ic-racer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2020, 07:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Default

Tried re-installing HeliX-9 and running on Sierra or Catalina and neither responds to the RX2SIM USB controller dongle.

I re-installed HeliX-8 and can only fly the last model I used before I tried Helix-9 because none of the menus show up.

I wish there was some way to get the menus to work in Helix-8. Is there some hidden file that needs to be put in the trash?
__________________
Micros: Hisky HCP80, ESKY 150x,K110, Trex-150X x 2 Mid: Oxy 3 T New Version, Oxy 4 360 Big: Trex-500X, Oxy 5, Trex-550X, Trex-700X Scale: MD500 TOW Defender (Trex 500 size) Vintage: Trex 450 SE V2
ic-racer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2020, 10:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Default

Followup from my posts above, I reloaded Heli-x 8 and re-booted my computer, looks like it is recognizing my transmitter again.
__________________
Micros: Hisky HCP80, ESKY 150x,K110, Trex-150X x 2 Mid: Oxy 3 T New Version, Oxy 4 360 Big: Trex-500X, Oxy 5, Trex-550X, Trex-700X Scale: MD500 TOW Defender (Trex 500 size) Vintage: Trex 450 SE V2
ic-racer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1