Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Jeti Duplex Radio Systems


Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Support


Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2020, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,984
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Victorville, CA
Default R5L receiver with Brain2

I setup my R5L with my uBrain2 on my Oxy2 and the Brain integration did not pop up under Device Explorer.

Does this receiver support it? It is using EXBUS.
Inputs and everything shows up fine on the Brain software.

Any help?
Thanks
__________________
Goblin Kraken / Protos Nitro / Logo 690 / Logo 480 / Logo 480 Nightship / Protos 380 / Oxy 215
Jeti DS-12 Carbon / Brain2 / Hobbywing v4
DIY Night Blade Tutorial
BuildFlyCrashRepeat is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2020, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,021
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Check in the Jeti threads BFCR, there is a thread about the r4l working with integration.
__________________
Oxy 2 215- RIP / Oxy 2 215 sport / Oxy 3 Tareq 2018 / Trioxy 3 (aka Qube) / Oxy 4 / Goblin fireball / G380 / P380 Evo / G570 / G-stay tuned / eXo 500 / Jeti DS-12
blarks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 01:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,984
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Victorville, CA
Default

Ok did some reading and it seems like it should be working.

Dunno what's going on.
__________________
Goblin Kraken / Protos Nitro / Logo 690 / Logo 480 / Logo 480 Nightship / Protos 380 / Oxy 215
Jeti DS-12 Carbon / Brain2 / Hobbywing v4
DIY Night Blade Tutorial
BuildFlyCrashRepeat is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,984
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Victorville, CA
Default

Do I need to do a firmware update on the receiver? The transmitter is prompting me.
__________________
Goblin Kraken / Protos Nitro / Logo 690 / Logo 480 / Logo 480 Nightship / Protos 380 / Oxy 215
Jeti DS-12 Carbon / Brain2 / Hobbywing v4
DIY Night Blade Tutorial
BuildFlyCrashRepeat is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 02:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,021
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildFlyCrashRepeat View Post
Do I need to do a firmware update on the receiver? The transmitter is prompting me.
Possibly, I have never had this message before and have never updated any of my rx's. It may solve your issue as all my rx's are rex 3's and imagine the firmware is newer but cannot confirm that.
__________________
Oxy 2 215- RIP / Oxy 2 215 sport / Oxy 3 Tareq 2018 / Trioxy 3 (aka Qube) / Oxy 4 / Goblin fireball / G380 / P380 Evo / G570 / G-stay tuned / eXo 500 / Jeti DS-12
blarks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 07:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,993
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

It sounds like you do not have the .bin file for your Brain 2 in the Jeti transmitter.

This might be of help also to check your full set up with Jeti

https://www.helifreak.com/attachment...3&d=1473798457
__________________
TDSF, TDR-II, Triabolo, 2 X TDR, Logo 700,Protos evoluzione, T-Rex 700Dominator, Drake & Raw, SpiritRS, Jeti DC-24,HW,Kosmik,Jive Pro
EF MXS 3W110, Ultimate Aeroworks 20-300, DA 170, PowerBox Mercury, Q80-8M in a 91" EF Extra and MXS 104+ few jets
Puttputt maru is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 10:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,984
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Victorville, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puttputt maru View Post
It sounds like you do not have the .bin file for your Brain 2 in the Jeti transmitter.

This might be of help also to check your full set up with Jeti

https://www.helifreak.com/attachment...3&d=1473798457
I have the integration working fine with my R3 receivers
__________________
Goblin Kraken / Protos Nitro / Logo 690 / Logo 480 / Logo 480 Nightship / Protos 380 / Oxy 215
Jeti DS-12 Carbon / Brain2 / Hobbywing v4
DIY Night Blade Tutorial
BuildFlyCrashRepeat is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 10:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,533
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mosquito Farm
Default

I did have a similar (sounds identical) issue with older firmware not working. If the TX is prompting you, go ahead and update it. What firmware do you have loaded?
__________________
Jeti DS12 / Ikon2 / Oxy2/4/5 / SAB Mini Comet / Fireball / G380 / Gaui X5v2 / Kraken 580
JimJW is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 11:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,984
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Victorville, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puttputt maru View Post
It sounds like you do not have the .bin file for your Brain 2 in the Jeti transmitter.

This might be of help also to check your full set up with Jeti

https://www.helifreak.com/attachment...3&d=1473798457
The Jeti already came with the integration file installed. I had already updated it to the latest one though
__________________
Goblin Kraken / Protos Nitro / Logo 690 / Logo 480 / Logo 480 Nightship / Protos 380 / Oxy 215
Jeti DS-12 Carbon / Brain2 / Hobbywing v4
DIY Night Blade Tutorial
BuildFlyCrashRepeat is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 11:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,984
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Victorville, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimJW View Post
I did have a similar (sounds identical) issue with older firmware not working. If the TX is prompting you, go ahead and update it. What firmware do you have loaded?
It just says v3.20 recommended for the receiver

I’ll order the usb dongle
__________________
Goblin Kraken / Protos Nitro / Logo 690 / Logo 480 / Logo 480 Nightship / Protos 380 / Oxy 215
Jeti DS-12 Carbon / Brain2 / Hobbywing v4
DIY Night Blade Tutorial
BuildFlyCrashRepeat is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 04:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,533
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mosquito Farm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildFlyCrashRepeat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimJW View Post
I did have a similar (sounds identical) issue with older firmware not working. If the TX is prompting you, go ahead and update it. What firmware do you have loaded?
It just says v3.20 recommended for the receiver

I’ll order the usb dongle
That sounds exactly like my original issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimJW View Post
I’m working through setting up an Ikon2 with a DS-12. I’m trying to figure out how to get the RX to output EX bus.

From the Transmitter model menu:
Model > Device Explorer > R7 EX

I get a warning that minimum firmware 3.20 is recommended...

Under ‘Serial Link’ I set it to ‘EX Bus’

I’ve tried plugging the Ikon2 into all the different RX ports, including the EXT port but I can’t see any signal at the Ikon2. I’m plugged into CH-3 of the Ikon2

Is there another setting I need to apply? Or is the old firmware the problem?
__________________
Jeti DS12 / Ikon2 / Oxy2/4/5 / SAB Mini Comet / Fireball / G380 / Gaui X5v2 / Kraken 580
JimJW is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 09:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,642
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dover NH USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildFlyCrashRepeat View Post
I setup my R5L with my uBrain2 on my Oxy2 and the Brain integration did not pop up under Device Explorer.

Does this receiver support it? It is using EXBUS.
Inputs and everything shows up fine on the Brain software.

Any help?
Thanks


Out of the box the receiver doesn’t output EXBus. Go into the receiver in Device Explorer and the very first option will say “Servo/Jetibox” or something similar. Click on it and change it to EXBus.

Voilà. Everything will be working properly.
Eury is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2020, 09:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,984
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Victorville, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eury View Post
Out of the box the receiver doesn’t output EXBus. Go into the receiver in Device Explorer and the very first option will say “Servo/Jetibox” or something similar. Click on it and change it to EXBus.

Voilà. Everything will be working properly.
I did that
__________________
Goblin Kraken / Protos Nitro / Logo 690 / Logo 480 / Logo 480 Nightship / Protos 380 / Oxy 215
Jeti DS-12 Carbon / Brain2 / Hobbywing v4
DIY Night Blade Tutorial
BuildFlyCrashRepeat is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2020, 07:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,051
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

My unsubstantiated theory is that the receivers have been in stock a loooong time. How to move them? Bundle them! But of course firmware is dated. I updated mine but I won't use it until I build this winter.

Dan
__________________
Synergy 696; Synergy 516; Synergy 516 stretched to 557/96; Jeti DS-16v1 / DS-12. Planks.
No-Team; Non-Rep, no-skill. Free advice worth every penny.
dogbreath is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2020, 10:55 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,533
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mosquito Farm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildFlyCrashRepeat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eury View Post
Out of the box the receiver doesn’t output EXBus. Go into the receiver in Device Explorer and the very first option will say “Servo/Jetibox” or something similar. Click on it and change it to EXBus.

Voilà. Everything will be working properly.
I did that
After the firmware was updated, it just worked. For whatever reason, the old firmware doesn’t work....
__________________
Jeti DS12 / Ikon2 / Oxy2/4/5 / SAB Mini Comet / Fireball / G380 / Gaui X5v2 / Kraken 580
JimJW is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2020, 01:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA USA
Default

Just ran into the same issue - R5L would not work until I upgraded the firmware...
__________________
Goblin 500 Sport x2, Jeti DS-12, Spirit (RS, Pro, 2)
Spirit Videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...Oewh6h2VNbHPOz
yufasa is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2020, 01:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,984
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Victorville, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yufasa View Post
Just ran into the same issue - R5L would not work until I upgraded the firmware...
Thank you for the feedback
__________________
Goblin Kraken / Protos Nitro / Logo 690 / Logo 480 / Logo 480 Nightship / Protos 380 / Oxy 215
Jeti DS-12 Carbon / Brain2 / Hobbywing v4
DIY Night Blade Tutorial
BuildFlyCrashRepeat is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2020, 06:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,051
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Don't forget to update the devices *.bin or you may not see the choice.

Dan
__________________
Synergy 696; Synergy 516; Synergy 516 stretched to 557/96; Jeti DS-16v1 / DS-12. Planks.
No-Team; Non-Rep, no-skill. Free advice worth every penny.
dogbreath is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2020, 10:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,021
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dogbreath View Post
My unsubstantiated theory is that the receivers have been in stock a loooong time. How to move them? Bundle them! But of course firmware is dated. I updated mine but I won't use it until I build this winter.

Dan
This would explain it as well as why I am not getting an update message on my rex 3's
__________________
Oxy 2 215- RIP / Oxy 2 215 sport / Oxy 3 Tareq 2018 / Trioxy 3 (aka Qube) / Oxy 4 / Goblin fireball / G380 / P380 Evo / G570 / G-stay tuned / eXo 500 / Jeti DS-12
blarks is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2020, 11:02 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,051
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Jeti Studio is kind of dumb, in that it will only update what's plugged into it, doesn't care if you don't update, and doesn't know what's been plugged in before.

I asked Jeti (and they said it was a good idea) that Studio have a database of a person's items, with the ability to annotate what plane/heli they're located in. Studio can update/check the database when anything is plugged in, and remember what firmware it's running. When new firm/software becomes available it could notify the user through the database --show red or something similar.

Right now you have to hear that there's new firmware through whatever source to know to update. I don't have a big fleet, but I have over a dozen Jeti doo-dads that can possibly be updated. The people with dozens of complicated aircraft and helis need help in this regard. I can't remember my own stuff so I built a spreadsheet of what's in each heli/plank and what firmware it's running.

Dan
__________________
Synergy 696; Synergy 516; Synergy 516 stretched to 557/96; Jeti DS-16v1 / DS-12. Planks.
No-Team; Non-Rep, no-skill. Free advice worth every penny.
dogbreath is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1