Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Engines and Mufflers

Engines and Mufflers Having problems or need advice on Engines or Mufflers?

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2020, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default OS 55HZ Hyper Special Edition

I am having trouble getting my black OS 55HZ Hyper Special Edition that comes with its own special muffler to start and run. The manual states to start with both needles open 2 turns. But that is way to rich as it floods instantly. I can get it to start with the main needle open about 3/4 turn but then it idles too fast and if I trim throttle for lower idle speed it dies instantly.
I have been flying nitros for 30 years and always easily got the engines started and well tuned, but this one has become a mystery.
Advertisement

Old 12-01-2020, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users

I expect that you already know that the needle settings in the manual only guarantee that the engine will be too rich so as not to burn up (due to being too lean) the first time you fire it.
There is basically no way any engine will fly with the settings listed in the manual. It seems a lot of people assume the initial settings are for flight and not a starting point.

It seems that all the 3-needle OS carb are still basically a 2 needle system - idle and highspeed. The "medium speed" needle simply trims out the transition from idle to high speed. But, if you left the mid-range needle at its initial setting (2 turns open), the engine would still idle and fly okay as long as the idle and highspeed needles set properly for flight.

The first thing is to set the idle.
Unless the carb is damaged in some way, idling should have nothing to do with the high speed needle.