Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > HobbyWing ESC's


HobbyWing ESC's HobbyWing ESC Support


Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2020, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default hobbywing 130 will not calibrate

6 cell pack, ar7210bx. transmitter[dx9] setting within the range of 1940 to 1100. the esc works and starts the motor at about 40% of the stick, but i cannot get the 2 beeps at high throttle, it gives me 2 and quickly 1 more and no beeps at low throttle. is it possible i need a fully charged pack for this calibration.or am i missing something else.
rcflier1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2020, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Default

It's not beeping because the range is already set. If you want to reset it, follow this procedure:

After setting factory defaults on the ESC, power off the ESC.

Power on and Select “airplane” mode on the ESC, power off the ESC.

Set radio to Normal 0-100% throttle output and verify using your output monitor on the radio... set high stick at 100%.

Power on the ESC wait for the two beeps and move the throttle to low stick 0% throttle and wait for the arming tone.

You should always power off after setting defaults and before doing a throttle range calibration... default setting uses Heli GOV ELF mode. So setting Airplane mode after power cycle will reset the throttle range stored by the HW ESC.

Very important you have a linear throttle curve set-up. It must be from 0 to 100 percent.

NOTE: What mode are you running in the ESC?
Miracle Boy likes this.
__________________
Yellow 700X Dominator; Jeti DS-14; IKON2 FBL
Green 700X Dominator; Jeti DS-14; Spirit GTR FBL
Oxy4 Max; Jeti DS-14; IKON FBL
Tnjet is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2020, 08:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

right now, default, store heli
rcflier1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2020, 09:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,393
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Smyrna, GA
Default

The ESC is already working normally because the default mode is Elf gov and and anything below 40% throttle is considered zero throttle/off in either gov mode per the HW manual

Its likely the well know BX calibration issue that occurs as the FBL unit and the ESC have contradicting features built into them. The BX wont pass any throttle through unless it sees zero first on power up, yet you have to power up the ESC at full throttle so its a standoff and the calibration wont initiate.

There are lots of methods on how to work around this. Here are a couple examples that should get you taken care of:

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=745853
__________________
Tony
Synergy 516, Gaui R-5 Speed, Cypher Vtol Jet, Spirit FBL, Hobbywing and Scorpion Tribunus ESC, Xnova motors. The girl in my DX9 tells them all what to do
Xrayted is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2020, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

that worked, i think. but no matter what i do it does not give me cell count in beeps, esc is set to auto detect. i don't think it's anything to worry about and i may just set it to 6 cells and be done with it
rcflier1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2020, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,393
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Smyrna, GA
Default

Do you have the motor wires connected yet since its the motor that makes the beeps? The auto cell detect also assumes the number of cells based on voltage and can be thrown off if the packs voltage is different than expected
__________________
Tony
Synergy 516, Gaui R-5 Speed, Cypher Vtol Jet, Spirit FBL, Hobbywing and Scorpion Tribunus ESC, Xnova motors. The girl in my DX9 tells them all what to do
Xrayted is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2020, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

yes, motor is connected.and seams to run fine, i also tried charging to 4 volts per cell.will not give me the 6 beeps
rcflier1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2021, 12:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,923
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcflier1 View Post
yes, motor is connected.and seams to run fine, i also tried charging to 4 volts per cell.will not give me the 6 beeps
The 130A will not give 6 beeps. It gives long tones and short tones. The long tones indicates 5 cells, the short only 1 cell. So for instance if you were using for 12S, it would give 2 long, 2 short. If you are using 6, it is one long, one short. The manual hasn't been updated, but if you look at one for the 200A, it's the same - as far as what beeps you should get for cell count.
PaoloFCantoni likes this.
__________________
-Ben
Oxy 2/3/4/5; XL 550/700; Protos 380/700 EVO; RAW; Jeti DS12 Carbon

EGODRIFT Team, Lynx/Oxy Field Rep
jrman83 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2021, 06:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

thanks for that update, now i have another issue, the output on the side that has the fan/ or program box has gone dead. esc works but not the side port. waiting to hear from support, they sure take their time.truthfully, ready to take this out and put a castle in.this is my 1st hobbywing, and may be my last
rcflier1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2021, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

If the ESC works, what are you trying to do change programming?
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2021, 08:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,923
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern, VA
Default

Fan won't work either? Make sure you have connector positioned correctly.
__________________
-Ben
Oxy 2/3/4/5; XL 550/700; Protos 380/700 EVO; RAW; Jeti DS12 Carbon

EGODRIFT Team, Lynx/Oxy Field Rep
jrman83 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2021, 09:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

i do have them plugged in correctly. i wanted to read the results from the 1st flight. outlet is dead
rcflier1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2021, 10:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

the info from that port is unreliable and not accurate.. logs from the fbl, if capable, are better.

the throttle starting at 40% is correct and nothing wrong there. dont use a linear throttle for taking off. flick out of hold with a flat throttle curve at half stick and it will spool up nice if setup correctly.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2021, 10:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,333
 

Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: US
Default

Does the program box communicate properly?
Have you updated the firmware recently? There have been newer versions released in the last couple months
__________________
NanoS2 - mCPX BL2 - 230s - 470LT - Goblin BT700 - LaTrax Alias
motoxxxman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2021, 10:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,393
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Smyrna, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcflier1 View Post
i do have them plugged in correctly. i wanted to read the results from the 1st flight. outlet is dead
As Tony said, the data from that port is complete garbage so you are not missing anything. It might as well not exist in the first place
__________________
Tony
Synergy 516, Gaui R-5 Speed, Cypher Vtol Jet, Spirit FBL, Hobbywing and Scorpion Tribunus ESC, Xnova motors. The girl in my DX9 tells them all what to do
Xrayted is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2021, 02:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

all well and good, and as a retired electronic tech, i do know electronics. with the port dead, there is no power to the fan either! new unit, i should not have these issues, and still no answer from hobbywing tech support.just say in
rcflier1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2021, 03:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

your not gonna hear from hobbywing, dont hold your breath.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2021, 11:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 498
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tnjet View Post
It's not beeping because the range is already set. If you want to reset it, follow this procedure:

After setting factory defaults on the ESC, power off the ESC.

Power on and Select “airplane” mode on the ESC, power off the ESC.

Set radio to Normal 0-100% throttle output and verify using your output monitor on the radio... set high stick at 100%.

Power on the ESC wait for the two beeps and move the throttle to low stick 0% throttle and wait for the arming tone.

You should always power off after setting defaults and before doing a throttle range calibration... default setting uses Heli GOV ELF mode. So setting Airplane mode after power cycle will reset the throttle range stored by the HW ESC.

Very important you have a linear throttle curve set-up. It must be from 0 to 100 percent.

NOTE: What mode are you running in the ESC?

I followed this while experiencing a similar issue with my 130A Opto V4. Got the expected beeps starting the calibration at full throttle but got only steady fast beeps after reaching low throttle. In both Gov Store and Fixed Wing mode.

Setting the throttle range to the maximum high and low permitted by the transmitter didn't fix it either.

I'm really at a loss here.
__________________
Logo 600 (VBar Neo), Gaui X5 FES (BD3SX), Warp 360 (MiniVbar), Trex 450 Pro FBL (Spirit Pro), OXY 3 stretch (Spirit), OMP M2 Explore, two 180CFX (one uSpirit), 130X, XK110, Nano CPX

Last edited by PassinThru; 05-06-2021 at 06:59 PM.. Reason: create new post
PassinThru is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2021, 07:10 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

do you have any means to check the actual throttle signal values going to the ESC?
Alternatively, do you have a servo tester you could use to do the throttle range calibration?
hamburger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2021, 07:16 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PassinThru View Post
I followed this while experiencing a similar issue with my 130A Opto V4. Got the expected beeps starting the calibration at full throttle but got only steady fast beeps after reaching low throttle. In both Gov Store and Fixed Wing mode.

Setting the throttle range to the maximum high and low permitted by the transmitter didn't fix it either.

I'm really at a loss here.
what tx?
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1