Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2021, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Stony Plain
Default DX8 g2 low voltage alarm not working

Hello folks, first time posting and looking for some help.

I can't get my low voltage alarm on my DX8 g2 to work, as soon as I power on a model the warning screen comes on showing my current voltage. The voltage is still over the value I set in the telemetry menu, it doesn't matter what value I set as soon as I exit telemetry menu the warning comes on. When I exit the warning screen the warning doesn't come back on when I reach my set limit.

I have tried on all 4 of my helis which do have functioning voltage telemetry displayed on the transmitter.

Horizon tech support hasn't been any help, updated the Dx8 to v2.08 and it did nothing. Starting to wonder if it's a possible hardware issue? If anyone has any tips or similar issues I'd appreciate some feedback.
SmokyMcSoberlife is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2021, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,071
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

If I understand you, the DX8g2 shows no warnings until you power up the model. Then the low voltage warning from the model's voltage telemetry warning pops-up (right?).
Of so, this is kind of normal.
On power up, the receiver's telemetry initializes the link to the transmitter before it has all the senor's valid data. And, many times the transmitter will see 0v for a second, followed by the actual voltage. That 0V is enough to trigger the warning.

Which voltage telemetry is being reported? If it is the Receiver Voltage, the only time it drops low enough (for me) is when I turn off the BEC and the backup power supply takes over - that is a 1/2v drop and it is enough to trigger the alarm.
But do not expect the voltage warning to pop-up when you power off the BEC. Once the BEC is off, the telemetry link is dead. With no data, there should be no more warnings.
But, every once in a while, I get a warning or two when I power off. I just attribute them to the last gasp of the receiver before it dies. But, I wouldn't expect to get them all the time.

Assuming the model is still power up, you should still be able to get the next warning if anything drops below the threshold you set.

On your voltage telemetry screen in the transmitter, what are the settings for Status Reports and Warnings?
I have my Receiver Voltage "Status Reports" "Inh" and the "Warning Reports" "10 Sec".
__________________
"Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities." (Voltaire)
Watch out: There are a lot of absurdities being thrown around lately.
+ > RIP: John Lewis
ticedoff8 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2021, 02:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
HF Scale Support
 
Posts: 3,963
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

I have set my voltage and current readouts to become active when I flip the Hold switch off. The low voltage warnings I have left active as a separate warning but changed the time frame it is called out so it is not so annoying. As long as the Hold Switch is on, the flight battery voltage is not called out, nor is the current. I have them set under Audio Events/Custom Reports. Hope this helps.

Don
Keyrigger is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2021, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Stony Plain
Default

Yeah correct, alarm comes on right away. I have found that the alarm also comes on right away after exiting the telemetry menu trying to change settings as well, meaning the model is already powered up.

The voltage type is the ESC voltage which I assume is the meassured amount of actual flight pack voltage.

In the ESC telemetry menu I have:
Volts min with alarm set to voice
Amps max Inh
FET temp max Inh
Poles Inh (depending on model)

Status report Inh
Warning report I tried Inh, 5, 10, 15, sec and so on and it made no difference.

I did set my D switch to voice out my ESC data if I want to find out my pack voltage without looking at the screen.
SmokyMcSoberlife is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1