Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > FrSky


FrSky FrSky product discussion.


Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Helique
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2021, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Orange Co. CA
Default Archer R6 connection to FLB

Hi all: Just received the new R6 and I’m a bit confused as to how to connect S-bus to the FLB. There is a single wire in the provided cable loom labeled “s-bus out” which I assume would connect to the signal pin on the FBL. But how is the R6 supposed to get power?
Thanks for any help.
Helique is offline        Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2021, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,786
 

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Snohomish, WA
Default

In the manual it has a pinout diagram that shows which pins are positive and negative. Usually these get hooked up directly to the FBL's power bus.
__________________
— XLP Specter V1, XLP 550, Oxy 4 Max, Oxy 2, OMP M1 —
— Spirit GT — Egodrift & XNova, YGE & Scorpion, FrSky Horus OpenTX —
— WTB XLP Wraith for cheap —
xoexoe is online now        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2021, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,786
 

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Snohomish, WA
Default

Also, which FBL? It will have instructions for how and where to connect SBUS to your FBL.
__________________
— XLP Specter V1, XLP 550, Oxy 4 Max, Oxy 2, OMP M1 —
— Spirit GT — Egodrift & XNova, YGE & Scorpion, FrSky Horus OpenTX —
— WTB XLP Wraith for cheap —
xoexoe is online now        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2021, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Orange Co. CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoexoe View Post
In the manual it has a pinout diagram that shows which pins are positive and negative. Usually these get hooked up directly to the FBL's power bus.
Thanks for your reply. So I would run +/- leads from the FLB to any +/- servo channel pins on the RX?
Helique is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2021, 12:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Orange Co. CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoexoe View Post
Also, which FBL? It will have instructions for how and where to connect SBUS to your FBL.
It’s a Bavarian Demon 3SX. It has a standard sbus channel using a servo connector. Issue is the R6 only has one wire in the cable loom that is marked sbus out. Not a three pin servo type connector. On my RX4-SB it has one servo channel (3 pin) that also serves as sbus out.
Helique is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2021, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,786
 

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Snohomish, WA
Default

I could see two options.

1. Do exactly what you're suggesting: Have the + and – wires go to two of any servo port's + and – pins, and have the unused signal (SBUS) wire go to the proper pin of the R6's 6-pin header. The instruction manual will say which one. You'll likely need to solder the servo wire's signal pin to the header's SBUS wire.

But personally I'd do option #2...

2. If the receiver came with a full 6-pin connector, just use that header thing. No servo ports needed. The instruction manual I found online for the R6 indicates which 3 pins of the 6-pin header are –/+/SBUS. So once you know which 3 pins (3 wires) you need from the 6-pin header, you can just solder or crimp your own 3-pin servo connector to make it fit the FBL port. If the receiver did not come with a full 6-pin connector, yell/swear/complain at FrSky, then purchase your own from AloftHobbies or wherever. (They have everything you could need... just ask if you don't find it in their online store.) But if Aloft doesn't have it, maybe try HansenHobbies.com
__________________
— XLP Specter V1, XLP 550, Oxy 4 Max, Oxy 2, OMP M1 —
— Spirit GT — Egodrift & XNova, YGE & Scorpion, FrSky Horus OpenTX —
— WTB XLP Wraith for cheap —
xoexoe is online now        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2021, 10:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Orange Co. CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoexoe View Post
I could see two options.

1. Do exactly what you're suggesting: Have the + and – wires go to two of any servo port's + and – pins, and have the unused signal (SBUS) wire go to the proper pin of the R6's 6-pin header. The instruction manual will say which one. You'll likely need to solder the servo wire's signal pin to the header's SBUS wire.

But personally I'd do option #2...

2. If the receiver came with a full 6-pin connector, just use that header thing. No servo ports needed. The instruction manual I found online for the R6 indicates which 3 pins of the 6-pin header are –/+/SBUS. So once you know which 3 pins (3 wires) you need from the 6-pin header, you can just solder or crimp your own 3-pin servo connector to make it fit the FBL port. If the receiver did not come with a full 6-pin connector, yell/swear/complain at FrSky, then purchase your own from AloftHobbies or wherever. (They have everything you could need... just ask if you don't find it in their online store.) But if Aloft doesn't have it, maybe try HansenHobbies.com
Thanks much for your reply! Yes, I purchased the R6 from Aloft and it included two 6-pin cables; one has bare ends and one has connectors already crimped on. I think I’m going to go with your #2 suggestion. NOW my problem is: I can’t get the R6 to register! I follow the instructions carefully but when it gets to where I power on the R6, while pressing the bind button, the TX doesn’t see the R6. It just stays on “waiting” and the R6 LEDs just stay solid red/green. The TX has the latest firmware and ACCESS is enabled.
Helique is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2021, 11:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,786
 

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Snohomish, WA
Default Archer R6 connection to FLB

Make sure your TX has the latest isrm firmware installed. I’m not talking about OpenTX software, but the RF board firmware. The TX firmware version should match the RX firmware version. At least that’s how it is on ACCST, not sure about ACCESS.

EDIT: It's probably not the issue, bit it -could- be depending on how old your RF board's firmware is.
xoexoe is online now        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2021, 12:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Orange Co. CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoexoe View Post
Make sure your TX has the latest isrm firmware installed. I’m not talking about OpenTX software, but the RF board firmware..
THAT WAS IT!!!
Thank you so much! I tell you, if it weren’t for members like you on the forum, I wouldn’t be in this hobby today. Thanks again!
PaoloFCantoni and xoexoe like this.
Helique is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2021, 10:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Orange Co. CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoexoe View Post
I could see two options.

1. Do exactly what you're suggesting: Have the + and – wires go to two of any servo port's + and – pins, and have the unused signal (SBUS) wire go to the proper pin of the R6's 6-pin header...
Would you possibly know what size that 6-pin connector is? I’d like to order a cable with longer wires. JST-SH micro? 1mm? Thanks.
Helique is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2021, 10:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,786
 

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Snohomish, WA
Default Archer R6 connection to FLB

Not sure. ALoftHobbies would know.

FrSky uses different pitches for different receivers. Is there a size reference on the instruction manual?
xoexoe is online now        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2021, 11:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Orange Co. CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoexoe View Post
Not sure. ALoftHobbies would know.

FrSky uses different pitches for different receivers. Is there a size reference on the instruction manual?
Hi and thanks. No reference in the “manual” or anywhere on the net that I can find. I’ll check with Aloft, thanks again!
Helique is offline        Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2021, 10:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Orange Co. CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helique View Post
Hi and thanks. No reference in the “manual” or anywhere on the net that I can find. I’ll check with Aloft, thanks again!
No luck with Aloft I’ll post a new question.
Helique is offline        Quick reply to this message
Closed Thread




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1