Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Jeti Duplex Radio Systems


Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2021, 03:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,802
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Default programing rc cars onto jeti ? possible?

I have a hoist of crawlers and 1/14 trucks. I would love to get them off my dx6r and onto the ds12. Most of it is very straight forward... My big issue is that I would like to be able to "flip" a switch to get into reverse. Having to balance the left stick in the center is a challenge.. the trucks tend to shoot off in a direction if I am not careful. I would want to set them up similar to an airplane where 0 throttle is the bottom of the stick. This is fine to do, but then I cant get reverse to work. Any tips?
MotorG525 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2021, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Default

Of course its possible as you have a completely programmable radio

My suggestion would be to setup a "flight" mode which reverses throttle but keeps all other channels normal but with jeti there are many ways to skin the proverbial cat so choose your poison.

I am sure more ideas will be mentioned so try them all out and pick your favourite
Chippie13 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2021, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2015
Default

I used my Jeti with a TRX4 Crawler and a R7Nano.

To avoid the throttle issue with the left stick I just used the right stick for throttle and the left for direction. This way it doesn't matter if the left stick moves up and down.

I think that you can also use a switch for flight modes. One mode has throttle from 50 to 100 and the other from 50 to 0.
vvv850 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2021, 01:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Yup, definitely possible and Chippie's suggestion of using a flight mode is the way I would do it too. Create flight modes for forward and reverse, then in Fine Tuning -> Function Curves, set throttle to be per flight mode instead of global, and edit the curve so it's using 50 to 100 for one flight mode, 0 to 50 for the other.

If you also want the radio to announce "Forwards" and "Reverse" as you change flight modes, use Teros' text to speech service to generate those audio files, and add them to each flight mode: https://www.rc-thoughts.com/tts/.

And finally, if you want the radio to prompt to ensure you're in forwards when you first start, in Advanced Properties - Sticks/Switches Setup, set the "Required pre-fl. pos." for your flight mode switch. With that set it won't bind to the crawler until you're in forwards mode.
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2021, 08:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,802
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Default

sick.. gonna order a new rx to retry this with. will let you all see how it goes once its together
MotorG525 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2021, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Default

I don't know much about Jedi, does it have a built in FBL?
Anyway, you might be interested to know that after getting in to helicopters, I have put Gyros on all my RC cars.
I started by re-purposing discarded Align 3GX units. This probably works with any FBL that has a separate rudder section. Use the rudder gyro to control the steering servo.

Eventually I got rid of the heli units and went with the dedicated Futaba "Grip" car gyros and high-end steering servos. This really transformed all my RC cars!

__________________
Micros: Hisky HCP80, ESKY 150x,K110, Trex-150X x 2 Mid: Oxy 3 T 2018 Version, Oxy 4 360 Big: Trex-500X, Oxy 5, Trex-550X, Trex-700X Scale: MD500 TOW Defender (Trex 500 size) Vintage: Trex 450 SE V2
ic-racer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2021, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,838
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Default

I thought about doing the same with another brand radio, but then I thought about the extra wear and abuse and got a Flysky Fly Sky #GT3B, it has a 10 model memory and its $50, perfect for my car bashing needs. Receivers are dirt cheap too.
yakky is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2021, 09:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,802
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Default

That is just for rock crawlers and 1/14 tamiya truck / construction type rc so no gyros. I keep the pistol grip radios for the bashers / speed cars. Tried messing with the flight modes and got lost. Might just use the right stick
MotorG525 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2021, 12:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

It's worth sticking with it, flight modes are a really useful feature once you get the hang of them. Harry Curzon has a great introduction video on YouTube that's well worth a watch. At 7:30 he starts programming separate function curves on separate flight modes, which is pretty similar to what you want to do with throttle:

Jeti - using Flight Modes (18 min 46 sec)
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Radio & FBL: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14, Spektrum DX8G2
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2021, 09:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,802
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Default

not giving up yet, the flight modes themselves work as on the switchs . I just could get them do do what i want, thus i realized i dont have function curves installed. So i purchased that and will re try tonight
MotorG525 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2021, 12:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,802
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Default

Pretty sure i got it, had to use the dual rates as well. Once my rx gets here ill test it out and make a video to help others
MotorG525 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1