Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G JR Radios


2.4G JR Radios JR 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


View Poll Results: Did your X9303 have wire chafing inside upon inspection
Yes - My X9303 had a chafed wire 104 49.52%
No - My X9303 had NO chafing and was fine 106 50.48%
Voters: 210. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2008, 09:27 PM   #61 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 60
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Radio purchased in April of 2008. The wires look longer and are routed downward going in between the PCB board and the side of the gimbal housing.

No chaffing.
mearlin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2008, 06:56 AM   #62 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Posts: 42,760
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
Carson, with as much as you fly they probably replaced the pots on your sticks and recalibrated! Good on them they did this for sure! Usually after a recalibration like that you do have to recenter servos and such.

Bob
Ni kidding Bob, I think Carson must have flown at least 50 flights are IRCHA. Nice flying Carson!! He is going to be GOOD.
__________________
William James
Crazy wife still trying to kill me.
WillJames is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2008, 06:48 AM   #63 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,891
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default that's the truth

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireup View Post
Hate to say it but the worst was the guy that had a failure while flying in the first place.
I found mine in the same shape as most chaffing but not to terrible! I sure am glad that there is a place like this to save the day!! Thanks to Bob, Kevin, and all the rest who have contributed so much! I took photos; but they are relatively unclear compared to what I have seen here, my camera has no good macro mode
__________________
No Plankers were injured in the making of this post!
TOY BOX contents Mcp x, 450 Pro VBar, 500 VBar, 12S 600CF VBar... Mikado Logo 6003D VBar Proudly flying KBDD, MKS, Castle, Scorpion and some planks too
snjbird is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2008, 03:02 PM   #64 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 811
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Is the DX7 concerned?
__________________
Francis

MAAC #77335

franky92 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2008, 03:38 PM   #65 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,909
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default

Q: Is the [insert any other radio other than the X9303] radio concerned? (just to head off any other 'me too' questions)

A: No.
__________________
˙ʇı ʞɐǝɹq 'ǝʞoɹq ʇ,uıɐ ʇı ɟı
cudaboy_71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2008, 05:05 PM   #66 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default

JR sent me an email about this issue. I checked mine, and it had a small chaffing on the wire.
Mike_117 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2008, 10:21 PM   #67 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,037
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Default

I've had my "DSX9" for nearly 7 months but it was ok. It doesn't travel much. I have pushed a little foam in the end anyway...
__________________
Pete Trex600 HC 3A cameraship
Trex600 AL GY401, DX7, LV-alarm,
Trex700 FBL HC Rigid cameraship DSX9, LV alarm

Check out my gallery for my low-volt alarms exported world-wide - http://efliernz.googlepages.com/home
Efliernz is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2008, 05:15 AM   #68 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,758
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Same here. Mine was hardly scuffed. Being a mostly AP pilot, my sticks dont move much, or quickly
I still rounded over the offending edges with some fine sandpaper anyway.
__________________
T-Rex 600 HFE-stretched to 700, 10s, Tango 45-08, Jazz 55, JR7703D/S8900G, DJ Vegh nose cam mount.
T-Rex 600 HFX-stretched to 700, 10s, Orbit 30-12, Jazz 55, GY611/S9256, Askman 360 mount.
JR X9303.
bullaculla is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2008, 06:44 PM   #69 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

Just checked my DSX9, it had just finished munching through the insulation so caught it just in time.
Thanks for the heads up!
Super_Si is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2008, 11:11 AM   #70 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Default Update on JR X9303 2.4Ghz Wire Chafing Fix from the Service Center...

OK, as you know from my post earlier in this thread, I had to send my radio in to JR for repair due to the chafing on the aileron wiring bundle. I received it back from them today. Turn around was 9 business days from the day they received it (counting the day they received it and the day they shipped it back out to me). Shipping time depends on how fast you want to get it to them and get it back. You will pay for 2nd Day or other expedited shipping, etc. I was told when I called to check on it last week that there was about a 7 - 10 business day turn around from the day they received it until they shipped back out. So, they were exactly in the time frame they stated. Not too bad for the most part.

I read the Invoice/Work Order included with it and it stated that the technician had "replaced the chafed aileron wiring bundle and re-routed the wires" and "repaired the yellow wire I mentioned in my letter" (the yellow wire was referring to the one on my LH trim lever on the side of the Tx that had a bare spot on it).

I had to see that it was to my satisfaction, so I opened my radio up to take a look.
As for what I saw, I was VERY PLEASED. The tech had removed the aileron wiring bundle and replaced it. When he replaced it, he did not route it back through the little hole in the side of the gimbal. He instead used what looked like a brownish hot glue or goop like substance to fasten the bundle to a spot just above where that hole was, but keeping it to the "inside" area of the gimbal. He then routed the wire straight up from that point to the top of the gimbal while leaving some slack in it and "SURPRISE", has moved the original metal wire keeper that had the screw in it to this new location on top of the gimbal where it was now secured and then put the same glue like substance on it there all over the bundle and wire keeper and screw to hold it in place (you can see this well on pic02 at the top right and pic06 at the bottom right). It was then routed from that point on the top right side of the gimbal to straight down toward the face or inside of the radio way out of the way and under the board to the bottom of the gimbal where the wires are actually attached (see pic01, pic02, and pic03).

It is EXCELLENT. I inspected it over and over and deflected the aileron/elevator stick every way possible over and over and over and there is ZERO issue (pic04 and pic05). I inspected the back of the radio cover and looked at where the voltage regulator is again and I held the cover up as close as possible to being installed leaving only a small enough gap as to see down into the area and there is no way possible for the aileron wiring bundle to get to the regulator to chafe, no matter what position the stick is in. It is nowhere near it with it fixed like this. The only part of the aileron wiring bundle that is even out in the open is the part between glue attachments on the gimbal and as far as the back cover going on, this is where there is nothing but a flat plastic surface out to the side of the board that the regulator is on, well clear of anything to chafe on (see pic08). Also, there is not enough slack in the bundle for it to go anywhere other than that area, and since it is attached to the gimbal, there is no pulling, stretching, or putting the wires in a bind when full deflection is made with the aileron/elevator stick (pic04 and pic05 again). This is the way it should have been designed to start with.
Hopefully, production is doing this now.

As far as you fixing yours without sending it in to the service center, I recommend the fix posted on RCU by ultimate1 on page 4 of the thread on this. Because anything you do that would allow you to get the bundle out of that hole in the side of the gimbal so you could re-route it as mentioned above will void your warranty. You'd have to either cut the gimbal there to pull them out or you'd have to do some soldering to disconnect them or cut the wires and reconnect them.
The "wrap around the post" method that is given by JR seems to be good and bad. It may clear the regulator, but I've seen a situation with wire pulling and binding with the gimbal at full deflection. Some have had this issue and some haven't, so I guess it depends on how yours does when you try it. You'd think that the amount of slack would be the same on all of these, but apparently there's some reason for this to be inconsistent.

The tech fixed the yellow "trim lever" wire as well. (Mentioned in my previous post on this)

I give them an A+ for quality of repair.

Again, pic01, pic02, and pic03 are basically the same, just slightly different angles and zoom.
Pic04 and pic05 are showing full deflection in both directions.
Pic06 and pic07 are just different shots from the side views.
Pic08 is showing the black plastic area that the wire is in now, instead of being over close to the voltage regulator. The gimbal and wiring is pretty much centered in this area when the backplate is installed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pic01.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	143.2 KB
ID:	63128   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic02.jpg
Views:	244
Size:	133.9 KB
ID:	63129   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic03.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	130.5 KB
ID:	63130   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic04.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	134.9 KB
ID:	63131   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic05.jpg
Views:	218
Size:	126.2 KB
ID:	63132  

Click image for larger version

Name:	pic06.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	129.3 KB
ID:	63133   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic07.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	132.6 KB
ID:	63134   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic08.jpg
Views:	249
Size:	89.4 KB
ID:	63135  
chacy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2008, 11:12 AM   #71 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

Another interesting note also,
I read where someone had purchased an X9303 earlier in the year, before all of this came out on the forums, and after the issue showed up, they opened their radio to inspect and the wires were run down under the board away from the voltage regulator.
SO, apparently JR knew something about this and had changed production on it, BEFORE THIS HIT THE FORUMS.
I purchased my Radio in April and I'm wondering if Horizon had a good stock and it was built in the latter part of 07' for instance and I didn't get a "newly manufactured" (meaning very recently) radio and the guy I am referring to actually did, so his was "fixed" from production.
Sounds like JR fixed it before this hit the forums, but there were so many already made that were being sold. Looks like they would have addressed it before it got so bad.
JUST A THOUGHT!
chacy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2008, 01:25 PM   #72 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,335
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2004
Default

i checked me 2 weeks ago, no problems. but it had the old style wire routing. i purchased it in march i believe.
__________________
Comparf Eurosport
1/7 F-14D
Rave 450, scorpion -10, DS285MG, 3500G, Spartan, 4s 2200 outrage, 6100e, 350mm radix
lookin for another Vibe 50
invertmast is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2008, 04:15 PM   #73 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,468
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default

Horizons fix to my radio. Should be problem free.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG0214.JPG
Views:	534
Size:	331.8 KB
ID:	63378  
__________________

Representing:
AMain Hobbies, XNova Motors
Jason Bell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2008, 07:55 PM   #74 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,716
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

does the DX7 have this problem, and if so which ones have it, is it just the recent ones, or all of them?
__________________
600N 8917HV's spartan 760/8900G OS 55HZ/hatori SAB-55 AR7100r switchglow
700N 8717HV's spartan 760/8900G OS 91HZ/hatori SB-20 AR7100r switchglow, 690 slick V2 V's
90SG 8717HVs spartan 760/8900G OS 91HZ/hatori SB-20 AR7100r switchglow, 710 slick V2 V's
LoveMyTrex is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2008, 08:40 PM   #75 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoveMyTrex View Post
does the DX7 have this problem, and if so which ones have it, is it just the recent ones, or all of them?
No. only the 9303 2,4 radio.
sonofcar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2008, 12:20 AM   #76 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

I just thought I'd mention... I was working on a heli for a lady with an X9303, and since I had the problem, I pulled hers open to check. Sure enough, it was doing it too. Here's the kicker though. The wires had already been rerouted per JR's mod instructions. I had to pull them around and put some shoe goo on the little springy wire keeper so that it wouldn't wander back over to the regulator.

I say EVERYONE needs to at least check theirs. I actually figured it out on mine because it would pop when going from full forward cyclic to full back cyclic. I pulled it open to see a ilttle bit of copper showing. I covered it in shoe goo then asked a friend about it. I hadn't seen the JR info on it yet, but my mod was almost identical to what they said to do.

-Eric
rccardude04 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2008, 10:36 PM   #77 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

well crap because i dont use dual rates and was quick to get my radio back and flying again. Well when i did get it back i had to readjust my swash. It was off my a flew degrees(need to fly so didnt think). Will only thing i noticed is that my throw was not even(left full stick was not full). Then last weekend i want to work on some hovering stuff and started programing dual rates, and found out that if i flip into a dual rate my swash moves over. which means when they had my radio they installed my gimbal wrong. Shoot and then i opened my case up to find the repair of the wire placement has not worked, the wire was being rubbed again I am not to happy right now haha so i guess i will send it in and hopefully they can fix both(free or else) without messing somthing else up
sonofcar is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 10:30 AM   #78 (permalink)
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,528
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

Carson, if you havent sent it in already, PM me as I know how to fix it if you like. I can walk you through it over the phone.

Bob
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2008, 10:41 PM   #79 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 148
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

I just bought my 9303 last week and checked it out to find that the wire was routed incorrectly and would have chaffed with use. With the help of the pics from the link I rerouted the wire and should have no issues.
T-Reximus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2008, 11:09 AM   #80 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,891
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

Follow up post, did my fix in Sept and checked it again in Dec. no more damage done, the fix is holding fine.
__________________
No Plankers were injured in the making of this post!
TOY BOX contents Mcp x, 450 Pro VBar, 500 VBar, 12S 600CF VBar... Mikado Logo 6003D VBar Proudly flying KBDD, MKS, Castle, Scorpion and some planks too
snjbird is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1