Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > HobbyWing ESC's


HobbyWing ESC's HobbyWing ESC Support


Like Tree23Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2019, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,220
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default Vbar Integration

I saw this morning that the HW V4's will be able to be updated to have integration with Vbar. I don't own a Vcontrol but I'm thinking about getting on. The only question I have is I have an Align 130 in my T-Rex 700. I'm curious if this will be able to be updated at somepoint or if they will just leave these out to dry....
__________________
Specter 700, Oxy 5, Protos 380 EVO, Logo 200
Vbar Control Touch, Neo's, HW/Scorpion ESCs

Last edited by micccain; 10-09-2019 at 04:52 PM..
micccain is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2019, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,141
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Default

where do we find the new updates ?
__________________
| Kraken 700 : Neo | Atom 6HV : Neo | Align 500X : Neo | vbct : | DX8g2 |
ragge1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2019, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,220
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragge1 View Post
where do we find the new updates ?
I just saw where they posted a video by Kyle Stacy on Facebook where he said it was coming. He commented that he was testing this now...
Prabhath likes this.
__________________
Specter 700, Oxy 5, Protos 380 EVO, Logo 200
Vbar Control Touch, Neo's, HW/Scorpion ESCs
micccain is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2019, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,515
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micccain View Post
I saw this morning that the HW V4's will be able to be updated to have integration with Vbar. I don't own a Vcontrol but I'm thinking about getting on. The only question I have is I have an Align 130 in my T-Rex 700. I'm curious if this will be able to be updated at somepoint or if they will just leave these out to dry....
That will depend on Align. From what I've seen in the past, they do eventually get around to rolling out Hobbywing's firmware updates, so it could come eventually. I have an Align 130A and a vbar control too, so I have a vested interest.

If your Align 130 is a very early one, it will have Hobbywing firmware and be upgradable with Hobbywing firmware.
__________________
Current fleet: Goblin Thunder Sport, Trex 700L, Logo 600, Specter 700, TDR, OMP M1 - Vbar Control - 5" and 3" FPV racing quads and a Taranis
Next heli(s): No idea. I have everything I wanted.
Bigpops is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2019, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,220
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigpops View Post
That will depend on Align. From what I've seen in the past, they do eventually get around to rolling out Hobbywing's firmware updates, so it could come eventually. I have an Align 130A and a vbar control too, so I have a vested interest.

If your Align 130 is a very early one, it will have Hobbywing firmware and be upgradable with Hobbywing firmware.
Mine is flashed with Align FW instead of the HW so it would be up to Align
__________________
Specter 700, Oxy 5, Protos 380 EVO, Logo 200
Vbar Control Touch, Neo's, HW/Scorpion ESCs
micccain is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2019, 03:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Default

Any updates? waiting for it for a looong time
Kgnx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2019, 03:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

If you hook up your programming box or run the pc software it will show any new versions of firmware.
Andy from Sandy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2019, 03:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Default

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=787745291667788

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=844855

Hey guys,

The HW integration is still VERY much in its infancy right now. I am currently on version 1 of the integration software and right now it's reporting mAH consumption, ESC temperature, capacitor temperature, RPM, throttle percentage, BEC voltage and a few other items like that. Setup right now is still done via the program card, but that could change in the future. Stay tuned as HW releases more information surrounding the software soon.

Also, there is no extra unit or sensor required for telemetry. All you need is a cable that goes from the "fan" port on the ESC to the satellite ports on the NEO. I made one myself quick, it was super easy. I didn't have any Mikado satellite cables at home when I did it, but it turns out Mikado uses the same satellite ports on their switches. So I took an old broken one and stole the plug from it ;-)

KS
Scott Graham, PJing and bones7 like this.
reco_very is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2019, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,813
 

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Melbourne
Default

reco thank you keep us informed please. I just subscribed to this thread
__________________
Just a guy, tryin to Fly
gimbleguy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2019, 06:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Default

Any updates?
Kgnx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2019, 04:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 438
 

Join Date: Jul 2017
Default

Any integration with futaba in the future?
scorlett likes this.
__________________
EGODRIFT // ManiaX
Xpert RC USA // KBDD
www.HeliDirect.com
Edge67 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2019, 02:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,997
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Georgia
Default

Thanks for the updates Kyle, looking forward to seeing how HW and Vcontrol will work together for telemetry.
__________________
Synergy Field Representative & Rail Blades/#Team Scorpion/#Team BK Servos/#Team Hobbywing/#AMain Heli Team/#Team Pulse/Team Canomod//
Greg Jackson 2017 Team USA F3N https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCci..._R4nja0RYeXykg
GJacksonF3N is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2019, 12:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,086
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Crickets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tshelby73 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2019, 11:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Canada
Default

tumble weeds
__________________
eXo, HD502, OXY, Protos

Spartan VX1n/e, Frsky RX, RT Blades MKS/BK, Hobbywing
Danker16 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2019, 08:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

and Christmas is around the corner.

whenever it shows up, are we gonna be the beta testers?
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2019, 05:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,179
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

I have had a mainly positive experience with HW ESCs performance and general user satisfaction in the past, but this lack of telemetry integration is the main reason I don't have a single HW ESC in my fleet at the moment.
__________________
14S Tron 7/Protos 700X Evo/Kraken; 7S Kraken 580/Logo 550SX V2; 6S Buddy 380 KSE
VBC Touch & Neo Vlinks, YGE "T" ESCs; AGM Deep Cycle Batteries
Sims on Mac: Heli-X, neXt, AccuRC, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Amain Field Representative
jhamel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2019, 06:17 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Default

But surely it's Mikado that are lacking the HW integration into the Vbar - you get HW telemetry integration into Spirit for example - or do you mean full integration to change settings
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2019, 08:13 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikej View Post
But surely it's Mikado that are lacking the HW integration into the Vbar - you get HW telemetry integration into Spirit for example - or do you mean full integration to change settings
you got it backwards..
Mikado integrates with several other esc's. hw needs to change its programming, thus the newer firmware.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2019, 08:44 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonys-heli View Post
you got it backwards..
Mikado integrates with several other esc's. hw needs to change its programming, thus the newer firmware.
So even though the HW telemetry protocol was available before the VBAR control, HW should change their protocol to fit the Vcontrol, interesting
Mikej is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2019, 09:56 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

looks like they are.. right? new firmware, Mikado isn't changing anything.
I really don't care cause the hw esc's I use have use the ui sensor for telemetry with vcontrol. the other esc's I have integrate seamlessly with vcontrol. so im not waiting for the fw to see if it works or not.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1