Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2021, 06:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Chesapeake va
Default Recivers

Do all l receivers have the same channels for the same functions…I just bought a used helicopter with a futaba receiver but I have spectrum Radio… Can I just unplugged channel 1 and plug it into channel 1 on the spectrum receiver .. 2 and 3 ect. ? Thank you for any advise
Aaron Stemm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2021, 07:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,946
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Michigan
Default

Misread

Last edited by Thickfog; 07-28-2021 at 12:35 PM..
Thickfog is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 07:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,787
 

Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Snohomish, WA
Default

Deleted.
__________________
— XLP Specter V1, XLP 550, Oxy 4 Max, Oxy 2, OMP M1 —
— Spirit GT — Egodrift & XNova, YGE & Scorpion, FrSky Horus OpenTX —
— WTB XLP Wraith for cheap —

Last edited by xoexoe; 07-28-2021 at 12:07 PM..
xoexoe is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 08:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,655
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

He says he will be using spekky rx.

Look up servo / channel function in the radio to be clear. From there it depends on FBL or not. More info will be needed to help further.
__________________
Steve


Team MasterCard. Team Kontronik.
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
HF Scale Support
 
Posts: 3,976
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

HI,

Generally speaking about Spektrum channels, this is how they list them.

Ch1. - Throttle
Ch2. - Aileron
Ch3. - Elevator
Ch4. - Rudder
Ch5. - Gear
CH6. - Aux1

To take that and translate it to the helicopter could be very simple. What we don't know is the helicopter you bought, which would make transferring the servo leads to the correct input port on the receiver a lot easier. Take care.

Don
Keyrigger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,598
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mosquito Farm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Stemm View Post
Do all l receivers have the same channels for the same functions…I just bought a used helicopter with a futaba receiver but I have spectrum Radio… Can I just unplugged channel 1 and plug it into channel 1 on the spectrum receiver .. 2 and 3 ect. ? Thank you for any advise
Certainly not. The channel mapping is different from system to system. Add to that is each radio needs a fair amount of setup (programming)

It would be very helpful to have more information about your setup.

— Are you using a FBL or have Flybar Heli? (Are your servos plugged directly into the RX?)
— What helicopter?
— What Spektrum radio & RX
— What FBL if you’re using one
__________________
Jeti DS12 / Ikon2 / Oxy2/4/5 / SAB Mini Comet / Fireball / G380 / Gaui X5v2 / Kraken 580
JimJW is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,319
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thickfog View Post
Spektrum won't work with Futaba.


Sent from my motorola one 5G UW using Tapatalk
And Spektrum only works with Spektrum. Each company (Futaba, Spektrum, Jeti, ect) uses their own frequency hopping scheme, none "talk" with others, which is why we can all fly at once (pretty much)
__________________
Team Futaba
Trex 550L/Trex 550E/Raptor 90/Raptor 50/Blade 230
Schlueter Scout(s), GMP Cobra, etc. etc.
Futaba 32MZ/18MZ/18SZ/16SZ - CGY760 and 755
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 10:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Chesapeake va
Default

Ok ..thanks guys.. i really appreciate the help.. I’m aware of that the futaba receiver will not work with my spectrum dx9 Radio I am changing it to a spectrum ar637T… the heli is a Xcell fury with a fly bar... nitro..Spartan gyro..govner.. what I was trying to ask was could I take the plug from Channel 1 on the Furtado recover and plug it into channel 1 on the spectrum… 2to2 3to3 ect.until it was all in the spectrum receiver… If that’s not correct.. I will have to take all the wires out of the harness ant track the down.
Aaron Stemm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 11:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,252
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Stemm View Post
Ok ..thanks guys.. i really appreciate the help.. I’m aware of that the futaba receiver will not work with my spectrum dx9 Radio I am changing it to a spectrum ar637T… the heli is a Xcell fury with a fly bar... nitro..Spartan gyro..govner.. what I was trying to ask was could I take the plug from Channel 1 on the Furtado recover and plug it into channel 1 on the spectrum… 2to2 3to3 ect.until it was all in the spectrum receiver… If that’s not correct.. I will have to take all the wires out of the harness ant track the down.
Ah, that's a whole different question.

The answer is no, you should not assume the channels are the same between receivers (even if they were the same brand!).
Set up the model in your transmitter if you haven't already. When you set up the swash mixing, it should tell you which channel goes to which servo.

I haven't done it in a long time, so I don't have screenshots or anything, but if you ask more specific questions in the Spektrum forum when you get to that point someone will know what to do.
__________________
Current Fleet: Goblin Black Thunder 700, Protos 380 Evo, Oxy 3, Oxy 5, OMP M2
Member of: AMA, IRCHA, Fort Wayne Flying Circuits, Summit City Aerospace Modelers
ArmchairNinja is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 11:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,598
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mosquito Farm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Stemm View Post
Ok ..thanks guys.. i really appreciate the help.. I’m aware of that the futaba receiver will not work with my spectrum dx9 Radio I am changing it to a spectrum ar637T… the heli is a Xcell fury with a fly bar... nitro..Spartan gyro..govner.. what I was trying to ask was could I take the plug from Channel 1 on the Furtado recover and plug it into channel 1 on the spectrum… 2to2 3to3 ect.until it was all in the spectrum receiver… If that’s not correct.. I will have to take all the wires out of the harness ant track the down.

So half your answer is in Don’s post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyrigger View Post
HI,

Generally speaking about Spektrum channels, this is how they list them.

Ch1. - Throttle
Ch2. - Aileron
Ch3. - Elevator
Ch4. - Rudder
Ch5. - Gear
CH6. - Aux1

To take that and translate it to the helicopter could be very simple. What we don't know is the helicopter you bought, which would make transferring the servo leads to the correct input port on the receiver a lot easier. Take care.

Don
The other half would be tracking down the channel mapping of the Futaba system. If they match then you’re golden. (Except still needing to setup the radio (swash mixing and so on)

Here’s the best reference I have on channel mapping but the context is more OpenTX vs. Spektrum: (and quads in general)

https://oscarliang.com/channel-map/
__________________
Jeti DS12 / Ikon2 / Oxy2/4/5 / SAB Mini Comet / Fireball / G380 / Gaui X5v2 / Kraken 580
JimJW is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 12:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,204
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

Just follow the spartan vortex setup

elevator servo is No1 and goes in a clockwise 2,3

spartan gov port is sv5 for the throttle

Spartan Vortex Setup Part 1 of 6 - Intro (4 min 18 sec)
PTFlyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 12:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Yeah, launch the Spartan windows utility, the setup wizard in that will set the Vortex for the new type of receiver. The Spartan setup is smart enough to set the necessary channel order automatically and it brings up the diagrams on screen to show you where the servos and receiver wires need to connect.

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 12:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Default

Simple answer, most radios channel one is throttle. Except Futaba, it's channel three. Plus futaba throttle channel is reverse action compared to other brands. So be careful.
Basic Futaba channel order
1) Aileron
2) Elevator
3) Throttle
4) Rudder
5) Typically Gyro gain adjust
6) Pitch


I can not believe how often members here give such useless answers to simple questions.
__________________
Blades, what goes around, comes around.
balsabasher is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2021, 01:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
HF Scale Support
 
Posts: 3,976
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Aaron,

About that receiver. I am not sure that you are aware that it has the built in AS3X stability system. It was not intended to be used to add any stability to a helicopter but was designed for airplanes. I know that it can be setup so that it is a simple 6 channel receiver and that is how you should set it up. The Spartan gyro will look after the tail once you have it setup in your transmitter. I hope this helps you out.

Don

PS: Without a model, besides Fury (they had a few with that name), it is hard to give you more information about what servo should go where in the receiver. A picture of the side of the helicopter showing the front and the tail boom would be of great help to some of us.
Keyrigger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2021, 09:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Chesapeake va
Default

Thanks keyrigger… it cam out of a rashed plane so that makes sense… do you know of a good spectrum basic 6 channel receiver that does not have safe mode ? I can save that for my next plane
Aaron Stemm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2021, 11:42 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 213
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Default

https://www.horizonhobby.com/product.../SPMAR620.html
Dan767 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2021, 07:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Chesapeake va
Default

Ok… so I actually got into the fury tonight to see what I could figure out… it is actually a futaba 8 channel Receiver and every channel is full..It looks like there is also some kind of Voltage regulator…I am definitely in over my head is there any way to simplify this system ?
Aaron Stemm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2021, 10:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
HF Scale Support
 
Posts: 3,976
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Pictures, man, pictures. Without them, we are all blind.

Don
Keyrigger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2021, 06:37 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Chesapeake va
Default Trying pic

https://www.helifreak.com/attachment...9&d=1626112196
Aaron Stemm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2021, 06:39 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Chesapeake va
Default Pic

https://www.helifreak.com/attachment...3&d=1626112196
Aaron Stemm is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1