Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > HobbyWing ESC's


HobbyWing ESC's HobbyWing ESC Support


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Tnjet
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2021, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South Carolina
Default Align 130A esc - Archer RS RX - Brian2 - telemerty data

I have a Brain2 FBL, Align (W) 130a ESC and FrSky Archer RS RX. I can get RPM, RSSI, Bat Voltage and VFR.

I'd like to get VFAS, Mah, Current, Temp 1/2 to name a few. Is it possible with this set up?

I have the rpm wire going from the data port on the esc going to the Gov port on the Brain2.

Thoughts?

Thanks
__________________
OMP M2 Explore; Align T-Rex 470LM; Oxy4 Max; OXY 5
TX: Radiomaster TX16S
HW 60A Pro v4 ESC; HW 120A Pro v4
iKon2 FBL; Brain2 FBL
wattscr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2021, 07:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,365
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Smyrna, GA
Default

Brain telemetry requires additional wiring between the ESC and specific pins on the Brain, assuming you can even get telemetry from the Align version of the ESC. At one point its firmware was dumbed down to not allow this, but maybe things have changed? Telemetry is a Brain function, so this isnt really a HW question.

Open your Brain software and look for the "manuals" tab on top. There are PDF wiring images and instructions of how to wire and activate ESC telemetry within the Brain setup as well as what equipment is supported

You will get better info for any further questions in the Brain forum
__________________
Tony
Synergy 516, Gaui R-5 Speed, Cypher Vtol Jet, Spirit FBL, Hobbywing and Scorpion Tribunus ESC, Xnova motors. The girl in my DX9 tells them all what to do
Xrayted is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2021, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: South Carolina
Default

Thanks
__________________
OMP M2 Explore; Align T-Rex 470LM; Oxy4 Max; OXY 5
TX: Radiomaster TX16S
HW 60A Pro v4 ESC; HW 120A Pro v4
iKon2 FBL; Brain2 FBL
wattscr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2021, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Default

the Align will pass telemetry data, just needs to be above a certain firmware revision, so best to update to the latest firmware version. I'm not familiar with your radio system interconnects, but the Align ESC has an RPM output that needs to go to the ESC. Then a single wire needs to go from the "fan port" on the side of the esc (make sure it's connected to the data pin) to the middle pin of the 4-5-6 port on the ESC.

MAKE SURE YOU DON'T RUN POWER TO THE 4-5-6 PORT. RUN A SINGLE WIRE ONLY FROM THE DATA PORT. IT WILL DAMAGE YOUR FBL AND RENDER IT USELESS. NO VOLTAGE AT ALL ON THE 4-5-6 PORT!

This is all spelled out in the manual for the FBL. Read the side panels in the set-up software. It should tell you how to wire your specific radio system.

AGAIN......DO NOT RUN A 3-WIRE CABLE BETWEEN THE SIDE PORT (FAN PORT) OF THE ESC AND THE 4-5-6 PORT OF THE ESC. YOU WILL BE BUYING A NEW ESC IF THAT HAPPENS.
Hydros27 likes this.
__________________
Yellow 700X Dominator; Jeti DS-14; IKON2 FBL
Green 700X Dominator; Jeti DS-14; IKON2 FBL
Oxy4 Max; Jeti DS-14; IKON FBL
Tnjet is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2021, 10:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Default

Did I mention that you shouldn't run power to the 4-5-6 port?
__________________
Yellow 700X Dominator; Jeti DS-14; IKON2 FBL
Green 700X Dominator; Jeti DS-14; IKON2 FBL
Oxy4 Max; Jeti DS-14; IKON FBL
Tnjet is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2021, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Default

Gov lead from the ESC GOV output to the Gov port on the esc.

Single wire from the data pin of the fan/programming port on the ESC to the "5" pin of the 4-5-6 port of the FBL.

READ CAUTION STATEMENT ABOVE........and read the manual.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	msh51630.jpeg
Views:	6
Size:	63.8 KB
ID:	931771  
__________________
Yellow 700X Dominator; Jeti DS-14; IKON2 FBL
Green 700X Dominator; Jeti DS-14; IKON2 FBL
Oxy4 Max; Jeti DS-14; IKON FBL
Tnjet is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1