Remote glow adapter question - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Engines and Mufflers


Engines and Mufflers Having problems or need advice on Engines or Mufflers?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2008, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,801
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default Remote glow adapter question

I have this glow ignitor: http://www.sonictronics.com/xcart/pr...cat=430&page=1

I have the Revolution glow adapter: http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/14364

Do I need to add some sort of ground? Or do I have to mount the terminal to the engine support somehow?

Because I can't get the plug to light by testing it in hand, so I'm assuming it needs a ground but the darn thing didn't come with instructions.
__________________
Steve
Trex 450 Pro
= MSH Prtos = E-Stratus
CatchmyCorsair is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-01-2008, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland OR.
Default

Nope. Metal bracket is screws to the engine mounting bolt, that is your ground.
helihead01 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2008, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,801
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helihead01 View Post
Nope. Metal bracket is screws to the engine mounting bolt, that is your ground.
That's what I thought. Thanks!
__________________
Steve
Trex 450 Pro
= MSH Prtos = E-Stratus
CatchmyCorsair is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2008, 09:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Singapore
Default

i have loadsa trouble with remote glow adapters too.

Thing to remember is it's only 1.5 volts so you need a damn good earth for a good result. I always lightly sand the eyelet conector ( in your case the bracket) and the area where it touches the crankcase then apply WD40 and fit together.

Good luck
bigfilsing is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2008, 11:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland OR.
Default

Make sure you don't use washer between the bolt from remote glow starter and the remote plate to the engine mount. That washer is not metal, and creates very high resistance.
Ill post picture when I get home
helihead01 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2008, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

I got one of the Switch and Glows....best thing I have gotten.....easy, reliable, and no need to worry about charging a glow ignitor. Might give it a thought
rocket_33 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2008, 05:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,335
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

Washer is metal, but the plating causes problems.

But make sure you do mount the adapter to the motor or motor mount. If you mount it to the frame, you need to run a ground wire.

I had that type settup, but added a Switch Glow. VERY nice, no more taking off and watching the glow adapter fall off in flight.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2008, 11:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland OR.
Default

i don't run the ground wire and when I measure resistance there is non.
here is the pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0129.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	65750  
helihead01 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2008, 09:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland OR.
Default

YOu can add a wire jumper as red line showing if you like, that can help if you have resistance problem.
(Sorry for sad iphone pictures)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0129-2.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	65766  
helihead01 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2008, 10:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,335
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

You are still bolting it to the motor mount. The bolt you are using is one of the ones that attaches the mount to the frame.

If you mount it to the frame away from the motor or mount, you will need to add a ground wire. Just making sure people understand.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2008, 03:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,801
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

I bolted it directly to the side engine mounts on the OS91, no washers. Just direct bracket to engine contact. It worked the few times I've flown it since then. (crank nut came loose)

Switchglow would be nice but the price needs to come down a little more, then I'll grab one.
__________________
Steve
Trex 450 Pro
= MSH Prtos = E-Stratus
CatchmyCorsair is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2008, 05:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,335
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

I just put one on. Very nice. Once I get the mixes straightened out, it also totally avoids the chace of a hot start.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2008, 05:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney
Default

I too run the switchglo....best thing I have put on the heli to date....got rid of a pesky prob of it stalling some times when you bring it off idle to running speed, just flick the switch again and the plug is lit.

Tiss funny watching your wand take off with the heli...lol if I only had a dollar for every time I did that.
__________________
JS Frenzy V2 90, OS91HZ-H, CY MP6 pipe...Evo 50, OS37, Hatori Pipe...HK500GT...HK450PRO TT...HK450 V2...Trex450 V2
phantom1500 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1